Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Wireless connection troubles

Beans

Question Wireless connection troubles

Hi, a few days back after some struggling. I managed to install Ubuntu 11.10 on my 2010 13' Macbook pro 7,1. I'm very new to Linux and entering commands through Terminal. I don't know how to search for wireless networks so, I added it into the wireless connections. But I don't know how to get my BSSID/SSID or MAC device number, I think it's called. So I tried getting onto the internet with an Ethernet cable. When I plugged it in it still wouldn't make a connection. Then I had noticed it said firmware missing by all the connection/wireless information. I have already used a looootttt of google to no avail . Any help with this problem will be greatly appreciated thank you in advance

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Wireless connection troubles

Let's see what kind of wireless card you have and we'll find some firmware. Please open a terminal and do:
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep 0280
    That pipe symbol | is on the right side of my US keyboard on the same key with \. Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans
    Hidden!

You may need the linux compatible driver for your network device. You could try a google search
    using your device name driver linux

Beans

Chili555 unfortunately I don't have the laptop right now and I wont for another 4 hours or so. So just please keep this thread in mind, because as soon as I get it later today i'll do what you said and let you know.

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by Nagantman View Post
    Chili555 unfortunately I don't have the laptop right now and I wont for another 4 hours or so. So just please keep this thread in mind, because as soon as I get it later today i'll do what you said and let you know.