Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 72

Thread: Quantal (12.10) Known bugs and work arounds

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by cariboo907 View Post
    Please post the bugs you have run into and how you worked around them here.

    Do not post your problems, please raise a support thread.

    Keep in mind, that Linux is infinitely customizable, you do not have to stick with Unity as a desktop environment if you do not want to.

    I'd suggest you check the Release Notes, for the version you are using, before posting a bug.
    Thanl You

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Dawlish, Devon, UK
    Beans
    577
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    If you are suffering distorted 'scratchy' sound with Skype 4 you can fix it by:
    Code:
    gksu gedit /etc/pulse/default.pa
    and changing the line: load-module module-udev-detect
    to: load-module module-udev-detect tsched=0

    Sound will be OK after reboot.

    Hope this helps.
    $> cd /pub
    $> more beer

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    8

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by Linuxisfast View Post
    This is a common bug affecting both nvidia and ati, one that will move new users of Ubuntu forever away from the distro. Earlier ati catalyst install would give an error with jockey and thankfully that has been fixed but anyone using hardware driver on 12.10 to install video driver would boot into blank desktop hell. Wonder how this passed through QC.
    I'm there at the moment. Found that I can still use terminal and firefox. So, I'm hoping that installing the linux-headers will get me out of desktop hell.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    327
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by foozball3000 View Post
    I'm there at the moment. Found that I can still use terminal and firefox. So, I'm hoping that installing the linux-headers will get me out of desktop hell.
    You have to remove the drivers via sudo apt-get --purge remove and then install the headers and then the drivers.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    8

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by Linuxisfast View Post
    You have to remove the drivers via sudo apt-get --purge remove and then install the headers and then the drivers.
    Ah. Thanks. I assume that this is the correct way to remove them then? :
    Code:
    sudo apt-get autoremove nvidia-*
    sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.orig1
    sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    But I might as well install the NVidia closed source drivers, while I'm fixing stuff anyway.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    327
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by foozball3000 View Post
    Ah. Thanks. I assume that this is the correct way to remove them then? :
    Code:
    sudo apt-get autoremove nvidia-*
    sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.orig1
    sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    But I might as well install the NVidia closed source drivers, while I'm fixing stuff anyway.
    Yes and install via hardware drivers and select updates instead of regular as that will keep you up with latest from nvidia and the packaging is not disturbed.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Hey guys, I'm new to the forums, this being my first post. Just installed Ubuntu 12.10 six days ago and I encountered a problem with the standby function: even if the screen setting to turn off when inactive is set to 1 hour, my screen turns off every 10 minutes. This is extremely annoying when I am watching videos on Firefox/Chromium. Did this happen to anyone? Is there any way to fix it?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    327
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by Gray Note View Post
    Hey guys, I'm new to the forums, this being my first post. Just installed Ubuntu 12.10 six days ago and I encountered a problem with the standby function: even if the screen setting to turn off when inactive is set to 1 hour, my screen turns off every 10 minutes. This is extremely annoying when I am watching videos on Firefox/Chromium. Did this happen to anyone? Is there any way to fix it?
    In system settings>power management, set the screen off to never.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by Linuxisfast View Post
    In system settings>power management, set the screen off to never.
    It was like that before I switched it to 1h and it still turned off, I forgot to mention it in the first post. Still can't figure out why it is happening. Thank you for pointing it out.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    2,924
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Quantal (12.10) Know bugs and work arounds

    Quote Originally Posted by haqking View Post
    in 12.04 dnsmasq is now running by default due to being hardcoded into network manager.

    Potentially bad idea (ever heard of DNS cache poisoning or MITM attacks ?)

    12.04 Release Notes

    5th Bullet Point.

    Its built into Network manager now.

    Running a local DNS caching server where your resolver is localhost or 127.0.01 may speed up DNS resolution but may also pose potential security risks.

    You may do the following to disable it if you dont want it used, though it doesnt appear it to be caching by default (you can test with the dig command)


    so


    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    (the above is case sensitive so capital N)

    and comment out the

    Code:
    dns=dnsmasq
    line then do a


    Code:
    sudo restart network-manager
    Peace
    As haqking posted in the bugs/workarounds for 12.04, this apparently still applies to 12.10.
    And as CharlesA had added:
    Verify /etc/resolv.conf does not say: nameserver 127.0.0.1
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    Last edited by Cavsfan; October 31st, 2012 at 04:18 PM. Reason: Added CharlesA's part.

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •