Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

  1. #1
    hakermania's Avatar
    hakermania is offline Τώρα ξέρεις τι γράφω εδώ!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Question Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    Soooo, I just moved to a block with students from all around Greece, and they share the internet to the rooms via Ethernet. Every room's ip address depends on its room number, so, the student team who is responsible for this installed the ethernet cable to my room and asked me to configure the IP so as to match my room's.

    For example, if I am at the room No 6 and my local ip is
    150.140.216.74, I should make it be 150.140.216.6

    So, I open the system settings, head to Nework then Wired->Options->IPv4 Settings, I choose Method:Manual, I add exactly the same settings as the present with the only difference which I pointed out previously and.... I lose my internet connection till I restart...

    Any thoughts ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    S.H.I.E.L.D. 6-1-6
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    Can you ping the gateway if you add the ip address?

    btw, that seems like a weird config to me - why are they not using dhcp?
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,047

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    150.140.216.74 sounds like the gateway, so you'd need to set that too. Get the exact subnet mask for this config as well from the local admin for your network. You need to set all of those things.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    Can you post the output of:
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    With both the working and broken configuration please.
    Cheesemill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    125
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    You could try running
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces
    from the terminal and edit the addresses in that file

    Barry
    Desktop: Z77X-UD5H, Intel i7 3770k, NVidia GeForce 660 Ti Sli 16GB DDR3 RAM 2TB HDD
    OSes: Mint 14 x64 Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Laptop: Dell Latitude E6430
    OSes: Ubuntu 13.04 x64, Backtrack 5 R3

  6. #6
    hakermania's Avatar
    hakermania is offline Τώρα ξέρεις τι γράφω εδώ!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    When I have internet connection but with the wrong IP:
    Code:
    alex@MaD-pc:~$ ifconfig -a
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1e:ec:9c:09:49  
              inet addr:150.140.216.74  Bcast:150.140.216.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fec0::b:21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Site
              inet6 addr: 2002:968c:d820:b:21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Global
              inet6 addr: 2002:8000:1:b:21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Global
              inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Link
              inet6 addr: fec0::b:98c8:2076:a776:fbd/64 Scope:Site
              inet6 addr: 2002:968c:d820:b:98c8:2076:a776:fbd/64 Scope:Global
              inet6 addr: 2002:8000:1:b:98c8:2076:a776:fbd/64 Scope:Global
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:32577 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:21081 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:27568491 (27.5 MB)  TX bytes:3498916 (3.4 MB)
              Interrupt:17 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:3324 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:3324 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:413153 (413.1 KB)  TX bytes:413153 (413.1 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:6b:3c:06:cc  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    When I don't have internet connection but I've tried to set the right IP:
    Code:
    alex@MaD-pc:~$ ifconfig -a
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1e:ec:9c:09:49  
              inet addr:150.140.216.6  Bcast:150.140.216.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fec0::b:21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Site
              inet6 addr: 2002:968c:d820:b:21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Global
              inet6 addr: 2002:8000:1:b:21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Global
              inet6 addr: fe80::21e:ecff:fe9c:949/64 Scope:Link
              inet6 addr: fec0::b:98c8:2076:a776:fbd/64 Scope:Site
              inet6 addr: 2002:968c:d820:b:98c8:2076:a776:fbd/64 Scope:Global
              inet6 addr: 2002:8000:1:b:98c8:2076:a776:fbd/64 Scope:Global
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:38648 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:24427 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:30950282 (30.9 MB)  TX bytes:4039399 (4.0 MB)
              Interrupt:17 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:5273 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:5273 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:578554 (578.5 KB)  TX bytes:578554 (578.5 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:6b:3c:06:cc  
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Thanks in advance for trying to help me!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    23

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    Do you get any errors or messages when you set the IP address to the .6? I'm wondering if someone else is already using the .6 address that you are suppose to use. Is it a big deal to continue using the .74 address?

    This is the reason that DHCP exists. Not sure why your network admin doesn't want to do things the easy way.

  8. #8
    hakermania's Avatar
    hakermania is offline Τώρα ξέρεις τι γράφω εδώ!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    I don't get any error messages. There isn't any real problem to continue using the .74 address, unless I'm cutting off the internet connection on the corresponding room number.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    7,703

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    That all looks OK to me.

    Can you ping 150.140.216.6 when your address is 150.140.216.74? If so, then someone else already has that address.

    Can you post he output of these commands before and after configuring the .6 address:
    Code:
    route -n
    ping -c 3 8.8.8.8
    ping -c 3 google-public-dns-a.google.com
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    I am wondering if the default gateway or dns server is getting wiped as you change address.

  10. #10
    hakermania's Avatar
    hakermania is offline Τώρα ξέρεις τι γράφω εδώ!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Greece
    Beans
    1,705
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to set custom IP through ethernet disables internet

    Sorry for being so late to reply in this thread.

    I finally solved the problem via setting the DNS whose IP wasn't configured previously.

    Thanks all

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •