Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    16

    Cool Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    Hey!

    First of all: yes, I have searched forums, but I couldn't find a useable answer.

    I'm a total Ubuntu noob, so this question may be stupid or already answered somewhere else.

    Is it possible to execute a 64-bit tool on my 32-bit machine? I'm playing around with Ubuntu to modify a LiveSuite flashable Android image for my tablet. I'm using this website as my guide. Everything works as planned, expect when I want to extract system.fex. When I type the command it says: "cannot execute binairy file". This is probably because the tool used for it is intended for 64-bit machines.

    Does anyone know how to still extract the file/execute the command? I think I can't install Ubuntu 64-bit on my computer with this processor: Intel® Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40GHz × 2 .

    Many thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Remcotjuuh; October 14th, 2012 at 08:03 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    It's not possible to run 64-bit software on a 32-bit OS.
    Cheesemill

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    5,990

    Re: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    No.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    16

    Unhappy Re: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    Ah, well, that's a shame. Does someone know how to extract the system.fex file then?

  5. #5
    wojox is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    8,630

    Re: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    Quote Originally Posted by Remcotjuuh View Post
    I think I can't install Ubuntu 64-bit on my computer with this processor: Intel® Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40GHz × 2 .
    Code:
    grep -q "^flags.*\blm\b" /proc/cpuinfo && echo "Yes you have a 64 bit cpu" || echo "No 64 bit for you"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    16

    Smile Re: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    Quote Originally Posted by wojox View Post
    Code:
    grep -q "^flags.*\blm\b" /proc/cpuinfo && echo "Yes you have a 64 bit cpu" || echo "No 64 bit for you"
    Well THAT surprises me. It says I DO have a 64-bit cpu. I think that I will install Ubuntu 64-bit soon then

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    Quote Originally Posted by Remcotjuuh View Post
    I think I can't install Ubuntu 64-bit on my computer with this processor: Intel® Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2220 @ 2.40GHz × 2 .
    Your CPU is 64-bit:
    http://ark.intel.com/products/32430/...Hz-800-MHz-FSB
    Cheesemill

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    16

    Smile Re: Running 64-bit tools in Ubuntu 32-bit

    Thanks for the quick and awesome support everyone!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •