Thread: uploading files to LAMP on UBUNTU Desktop

Hybrid View

Beans

uploading files to LAMP on UBUNTU Desktop

My apologies if this would best belong somewhere else but I decided to dive in.

I have an older computer that I thought that I would try to put to work as a developmental server. I have no experience with LINUX but had the notion that I would get my feet wet by downloading and installing UBUNTU 12.04 (Desktop) on it. That worked flawlessly. I then installed LAMP with a few hurdles of my own making, but eventually got it working and parked a few PHP files in the var/www directory and was able to access them there. I hardwired the machine to my Linksys Wireless router and can view the files from other Windows machines on the network.

My next objective was to attempt to sort out how I would be able to upload files to the Apache server on UBUNTU using something like Filezilla or preferably directly from Dreamweaver on a Windows 7 laptop.

I was optimistic when I saw the line “Connection established, waiting for welcome message...’ in the Filezilla log, but I have hit a dead end.

Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
    Error: Connection timed out
    Error: Could not connect to server

I have tried the sudo user name as well as “root” for a user name.

I installed webmin thinking that this might bring me closer to discovering the solution. I am clearly out of my league here. Does anyone have any advice for me as to what I need to install or how I need to configure what I have to achieve the desired results?

Thanks for your help.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: uploading files to LAMP on UBUNTU Desktop

Why 80? That indicates that you're trying to connect to apache.

Do you have a FTP server (daemon) running? You use a ftp client to connect to a ftp server (daemon), not to a web server (daemon).

If you haven't done so, install e.g. vsftpd