Thread: Problem with Sibelius-made pdf files

Beans

Problem with Sibelius-made pdf files

Hello all,

I am a musician and when on my Mac, I use Sibelius to make scores. I export them to pdf to e-mail them to my bandmembers and so on.

Since updating to Quantal Quetzal two days ago on my main computer, I came up with a curious problem. The pdfs are rendered horribly and are hardly recognisable as scores anymore. It happens in every pdf reader I can use in Ubuntu, so it's not a bug in evince or something, I guess. It also happens on my mother's laptop where Quantal is also installed. I've got an example attached so you can see what I mean.

I don't know against which package I can file a bug. Is there a specific pdf rendering package connected to Quantal?

The examples are saved in jpg in Gimp (in Ubuntu and in Mac OS X). The Mac one is the one how it's supposed to look like. I've saved them without any modifications. They look like this in a pdf viewer as well.

Thanks for your help.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Re: Problem with Sibelius-made pdf files

A wild guess, but have you installed the package ubuntu-restricted-extras? It may be that you need some fonts from this package - it includes an installer that downloads lots of microsoft fonts.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by The Cog View Post
    A wild guess, but have you installed the package ubuntu-restricted-extras? It may be that you need some fonts from this package - it includes an installer that downloads lots of microsoft fonts.
    Yes, I have installed that package (it says it's the newest version).

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

I have found this link for you:

https://live.gnome.org/Evince/Testing

It does not solve the problem. I might help in determining if this is an issue with Evince or with Evince on 12.10.

I assume that