Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    West Palm Beach,FL,USA
    Beans
    361
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

    is this a bug?
    why do i have Online Accounts twice?
    even thou i have no chat client installed and i have perform this command several times:
    sudo apt-get remove gnome-online-accounts*
    sudo apt-get purge gnome-online-accounts*
    sudo apt-get autoremove
    sudo apt-get autoclean
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by philinux; October 12th, 2012 at 11:03 AM. Reason: TITLE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    881
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

    That's bug 1040193. I gave a partial and somewhat grumpy explanation on my blog.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    862

    Re: Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

    This is all pretty awful, if not that major a deal really.
    I had been a big fan of unity til recently but I feel I hate it more and more.

    I'm all for distros coming up with their own desktop environments and such but I feel these environments should work with other environments, not break them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    212

    Re: Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

    Because you are using gnome3 and ricotz testing/stable ppa, which is not good. gnome-control-panel 3.6.0 is not for Unity and it works not properly. So purge these ppas soon.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    West Palm Beach,FL,USA
    Beans
    361
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

    Quote Originally Posted by funicorn View Post
    Because you are using gnome3 and ricotz testing/stable ppa, which is not good. gnome-control-panel 3.6.0 is not for Unity and it works not properly. So purge these ppas soon.
    dead wrong!
    i am not using any ricotz ppa for your information
    and this is a BUG!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

    Quote Originally Posted by kuvanito View Post
    dead wrong!
    i am not using any ricotz ppa for your information
    and this is a BUG!
    Have you filed a bug report yet?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    212

    Re: Why do i have Online Accounts twice?

    That's not an affirmative evidence. It's possible you upgraded gnome-control-panel using some ppa to 3.6.0 then disable it. To confirm this, type in terminal
    Code:
    apt-cache madison gnome-control-panel
    dpkg -l gnome-control-panel
    The first command outputs available package versions in the repository, and the second displays that of the currently installed. Compare and check whether you are using a version other than all available ones in the current repository.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •