Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Adding domain names

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    23

    Adding domain names

    Hey
    I got an apache webserver set up on ubuntu, I got a domain which is pointed to it IP, I got the domain to resolve but only on localhost.domain.com
    How can I configure it, so that domain.com also will work?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NY's first capital
    Beans
    2,528
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Adding domain names

    I think you may have to provide more detail.

    Two things come to mind.
    1. You need to properly setup namebased virtual hosts. You can check the Apache server docs sticky for help here.
    2. You may be experiencing a NAT issue. Perhaps your router is not allowing you to access the domain internally. Can you access the domain from a machine outside of your LAN.
    Nothing is ever easy, but if it is difficult you must be doing it wrong.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    23

    Re: Adding domain names

    Hey
    Yes I am able to access the index.html from localhost.domain.com from the internet, outside my lan

    I already tryed playing around with that guide, and setting it up like that with virtual hosts, but no change, still only localhost.domain.com that works. If I type the IP directly in my browser I get the page, if I type localhost.domain.com I get the page, but domain.com just get me a page not found/cannot display this webpage

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NY's first capital
    Beans
    2,528
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Adding domain names

    I don't understand. Do you have a dns entry for localhost.domain.com? Or do you have a wildcard dns entry. I'm just not sure why localhost.domain.com would even resolve externally.

    Please post your vhost file and what dns entries you have.

    What is the output of the following?

    Code:
    host domain.com
    Code:
    host localhost.domain.com
    Code:
    dig domain.com
    Nothing is ever easy, but if it is difficult you must be doing it wrong.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    23

    Re: Adding domain names

    Ahh think you pointed me in the right direction, the localhost.domain.com resolves because the place that handles the dns got that as host, so just added domain.com as well, so it might work when the dns updates...

    Thanks for your time

    EDIT: It worked when I set up right at the dns provider adding the domain.com along with localhost.domain.com which cant be removed
    Last edited by DonTommy; October 12th, 2012 at 03:41 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NY's first capital
    Beans
    2,528
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Adding domain names

    Glad you got it working.

    Please mark thread as solved using the "thread tools" link.
    Nothing is ever easy, but if it is difficult you must be doing it wrong.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •