Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 152

Thread: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    5

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    oo
    Last edited by Jon Bn; August 12th, 2007 at 01:06 AM.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    5

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    I was able to do all of the reinstalls and reconfigures for dansgaurdian but when I tried to restart firehol it failed and displayed a long list of errors. I tried reinstalling firehol in the synaptic package manager hoping that this would reset my configurations. It didn't work. I wish there was a simplified version of dansguardian with a gui interface in the add and remove programs. Is there anyway I could get dansguardian without needing a degree in computer science?

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    44

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    i have installed dansguardian just fine, everything's working...

    but the problem is that when i restart dansguardian (sudo /etc/init.d/dansguardian restart), it seems that the process hangs...

    i can stop dansguardian just fine (/etc/init.d/dansguardian stop works flawlessly), but when i try to start it again, it just says "Starting DansGuardian: dansguardian" and it stays there forever...

    does anybody know why this is happening?

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    2

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    I have been reading this thread and trying to install dan guardian as well. i have some difficulties as follows

    ~$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure dansguardian
    Password:
    * Stopping DansGuardian dansguardian [ OK ]
    * Starting DansGuardian dansguardian Error connecting to parent proxy
    [fail]
    invoke-rc.d: initscript dansguardian, action "start" failed.

    any ideas on how to fix this? I am still quite a bit of a newbie and only recently returned to linux
    thanks

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    1

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    If you get a lot of "runtime command failed to execute (returned error 2)" when starting firehol, there is a fix here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=538543

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    2

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    I have dansguardian installed however I have the following extension dpkg-new after all my files?

    What have I done wrong and how can I reinstall dansguardian correctly?

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    34

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    I have installed Gutsy and I want to lock the Firefox proxy settings (by modifying the firefox.cfg file) but it doesn't work (It worked on Feisty)
    Any idea?

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    79

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    This really NEEDS to be Alot easier and more gui based. Too many simple windows apps like this for there not to be at least 1 linux app that is simple to setup and use.

    Too much command line and editing by hand.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    34

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    I have installed Gutsy and I want to lock the Firefox proxy settings (by modifying the firefox.cfg file) but it doesn't work (It worked on Feisty)
    I found that on Gutsy the firefox.cfg file contains one crypted line. If I add the "lockpref..." lines then firefox doesn't start ("error reading configuration file")...
    If I remove the crypted line and put the lockpref settings Firefox starts but doesn't take them in account...

    help please

  10. #70
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    9

    Re: HOWTO: Install Dansguardian on a single desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by jmehdi View Post
    I found that on Gutsy the firefox.cfg file contains one crypted line. If I add the "lockpref..." lines then firefox doesn't start ("error reading configuration file")...
    If I remove the crypted line and put the lockpref settings Firefox starts but doesn't take them in account...

    help please
    I found the same, but managed to get it to work by byteshifting the file as explained on this page:

    http://togami.com/%7Ewarren/guides/mozlockdown/

    (info was found in this same thread, here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...2&postcount=14 )

    That worked for me.

    But now I am trying to figure out how to lockdown firefox32 on my 64bit machine. The 64bit Firefox is locked but not the 32bit.

Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •