Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    hi ,

    Ubuntu uses swap with space available in RAM

    it show up when i use vmware player , and sometimes it can be slow

    ubuntu 12.04 64bit



    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by tariq al; October 20th, 2012 at 07:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    /run/shm
    Beans
    826
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Please use UbuntuOne for hosting images or just attach an image to the post as an attachment. (NVM, it wasn't visible when I looked at it)

    Either way, when you use VMware or VirtualBox, ALL RAM that was allocated to a VM will be used up, if you set up VMware to swap RAM, it will be swapped. Linux won't swap until it needs to. It would help to know how much swap, RAM and how much RAM you have allocated to a VM. (Err, just how much RAM is allocated to your VM then)
    Quote Originally Posted by Linus Torvalds
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisiano View Post
    Please use UbuntuOne for hosting images or just attach an image to the post as an attachment. (NVM, it wasn't visible when I looked at it)

    Either way, when you use VMware or VirtualBox, ALL RAM that was allocated to a VM will be used up, if you set up VMware to swap RAM, it will be swapped. Linux won't swap until it needs to. It would help to know how much swap, RAM and how much RAM you have allocated to a VM. (Err, just how much RAM is allocated to your VM then)
    i upload the image
    ram is 3.9G
    usually i set the vm ram to 1.5G.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    /run/shm
    Beans
    826
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Did you modify the RAM Swapping in VMWare?
    Quote Originally Posted by Linus Torvalds
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisiano View Post
    Did you modify the RAM Swapping in VMWare?
    i don't use linux in vm. i use windows . so there is no swap in there

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    /run/shm
    Beans
    826
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    1. There is swap in Windows. It's called a Page File. I don't need to know this.
    2. In VMWare Options, there is a option to toggle RAM Swapping. I don't have VMWare installed atm so I can't show a screenshot.
    Quote Originally Posted by Linus Torvalds
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisiano View Post
    1. There is swap in Windows. It's called a Page File. I don't need to know this.
    2. In VMWare Options, there is a option to toggle RAM Swapping. I don't have VMWare installed atm so I can't show a screenshot.

    there is no option about swap !
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    /run/shm
    Beans
    826
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Those are the VM options. The RAM Swapping is in VMWare options, not VM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Linus Torvalds
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by Lisiano View Post
    Those are the VM options. The RAM Swapping is in VMWare options, not VM.
    yah , i'm sorry

    but still no swap option ..
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    /run/shm
    Beans
    826
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Ubuntu use swap with a lot space available in RAM

    Ahh... Guess RAM Swapping is only available to VMWare Workstation. I am stumped then. I still think VMWare is swapping the VM but I don't know how to find out what exactly is in swap atm. Maybe someone else here knows.
    Quote Originally Posted by Linus Torvalds
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program."

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •