Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Beans
    209
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackalyn View Post
    Press Enter to close terminal
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ sudo dpkg -i bibleanalyzer.4.5-5.all.deb
    dpkg: error processing bibleanalyzer.4.5-5.all.deb (--install):
    cannot access archive: No such file or directory
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    bibleanalyzer.4.5-5.all.deb
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$
    Is it in your current directory as it must be? When you type 'ls' (without quotes) at the terminal, does it show bibleanalyzer.4.5-5.all.deb?
    Asus K55A (Core i5-3210M @ 2.5GHz/8GB RAM/120GB SSD/Intel HD 4000) with Ubuntu 12.10 Beta 2
    Compaq Presario C700 (Pentium Dual-Core @ 1.6GHz/2.5GB RAM/500GB HDD/Intel GM965) with Arch Linux and Linux Mint Debian Edition

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Yarnton, Oxfordshire
    Beans
    149
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

    Quote Originally Posted by jrog View Post
    'package_name' should reference the .deb file. So, if the .deb file is in your current directory, you would type:

    Code:
    sudo dpkg -i bibleanalyzer.4.5-5.all.deb
    That will only work if the .deb file is in your current directory, though. If it is elsewhere, you will have to change into the directory where it is or provide the path to the .deb file.
    How do I change the directory? If the thing closes on my then I cannot send it to anywhere else???? NOT that I have a clue where the current directory is!

    Thanks
    Still deciding what to say.....

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

    Can you run
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install -f
    in a terminal, and copy and paste the output here? I think the .deb file was not fully installed.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australian in Germany
    Beans
    4,010
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackalyn View Post
    How do I change the directory?... NOT that I have a clue where the current directory is!

    Thanks
    Someone already posted

    Code:
    ls
    This command lists the contents of the directory you are in. That is to say, when you start the terminal, the system has you in a particular place in your file system.

    This is what I get when I just open a terminal and do "ls"

    Code:
    mick@mick-laptop:~$ ls
    Allen & Heath
    Bilder
    Bildschirmfoto-Profile of audiomick - Mozilla Firefox.png
    Desktop
    Dokumente
    Downloads
    examples.desktop
    fromFlashPen03Feb2012
    gsmartcontrolresults_26Sep2010.txt
    hardrive utility.png
    image
    image.tiff
    img_0266edited.jpg
    Musik
    Öffentlich
    operanewbuttons.png
    out.jpeg
    out.pdf
    out.pnm
    qcad-manual-en-2.1.0.0-1.html
    qcad-manual-en-2.1.0.0-1.html.zip
    recovery mode
    rotateouf.png
    SMART_values.png
    SoftwareandStuff
    system monitor.png
    Ubuntu One
    UkrainePics
    Videos
    Vorlagen
    mick@mick-laptop:~$
    That is the contents of my /home/mick folder, i.e. the /home/user folder for the user that I am logged in as.

    This bit
    Code:
    mick@mick-laptop:~$
    Shows you where you are at. This thing ~ indicates the /home/user folder. The $ indicates that you are logged in as a non-root user. I think you get a # in it's place if your are operating with root privileges. The rest is "mick" for the user and "@mick-laptop" to show which computer I am dealing with. Seems silly until your remember that you can do things like logging into another computer using SSH, in which case I would see "mick@another-computer-altogether"

    To change where you are at, you use
    Code:
    cd
    so, referring back to the list of stuff in my /home/user folder, I do
    Code:
    cd Allen & Heath
    and discover I have stumbled across something that you have to be aware of. In the terminal, you have to make sure that you get the names absolutely correct, and it can't deal with file names that have spaces and other special characters like the & in that directory name. That has a meaning as a command. That means that it is a good practice to not use such things in your file names. I changed that folder name to "Allen_and_Heath", so now we can continue.

    Code:
    mick@mick-laptop:~$ ls
    Allen_and_Heath
    Bilder
    Bildschirmfoto-Profile of audiomick - Mozilla Firefox.png
    Desktop
    Dokumente
    Downloads
    ...
    Videos
    Vorlagen
    mick@mick-laptop:~$ cd Allen_and_Heath
    mick@mick-laptop:~/Allen_and_Heath$ ls
    iLive_Editor_V1point83
    mick@mick-laptop:~/Allen_and_Heath$ cd iLive_Editor_V1point83
    mick@mick-laptop:~/Allen_and_Heath/iLive_Editor_V1point83$ ls
    EULA.txt                           iLiveINIFile.xml  SessionLock
    iLive Editor 1.83.jar              lib               shows
    iLiveEditor1.83.sh                 libraries         uninstall
    iLiveEditorV1.83LocalEventLog.xml  Readme.txt
    mick@mick-laptop:~/Allen_and_Heath/iLive_Editor_V1point83$ cd ..
    mick@mick-laptop:~/Allen_and_Heath$ ls
    iLive_Editor_V1point83
    mick@mick-laptop:~/Allen_and_Heath$ cd ..
    mick@mick-laptop:~$ ls
    Allen_and_Heath
    Bilder
    Bildschirmfoto-Profile of audiomick - Mozilla Firefox.png
    Desktop
    Dokumente
    Downloads
    ...
    Videos
    Vorlagen
    mick@mick-laptop:~$
    Note that I have edited a lot of the contents of /home/mick out of that output to make it shorter. The missing bit is where the ... is. What you can see after the word "vorlagen" is that I used cd to change into the directory Allen_and_Heath,
    ls to see what is in there, and then cd again to change into
    iLive_Editor_V1point83,
    and then ls again to see what is in there. At that point, the prompt is
    Code:
    mick@mick-laptop:~/Allen_and_Heath/iLive_Editor_V1point83$
    You can see how the directories line up in the prompt to show you where you are. ~ for the /home/user directory, inside that the directory
    Allen_and_Heath
    and inside that the directory
    iLive_Editor_V1point83
    with a / between each sucessive directory and the $ on the end to show which user you are logged in as.

    The next thing was to use
    Code:
    cd ..
    to go up a level. You can see how I did that a couple of times to get back to the /home/user directory, at which point the prompt is once again
    mick@mick-laptop:~$

    Hope that is clear enough.
    Last edited by audiomick; October 10th, 2012 at 12:56 AM.
    Michael

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Yarnton, Oxfordshire
    Beans
    149
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

    I am pretty confused now lol....
    Here is the output of the terminal putting in the things people have suggested.

    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ :
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ mkdir -p ~/Documents/BibleAnalyzer
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ bibleanalyzer
    bibleanalyzer: command not found
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ sudo apt-get install -f
    [sudo] password for jacky:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
    language-pack-kde-en language-pack-kde-en-base kde-l10n-engb
    calligra-l10n-engb libkdepim4 calligra-l10n-zhcn calligra-l10n-de
    Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ precise/partner i386 Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/archive.canonical.com_ubuntu_dists_precise_partner _binary-i386_Packages)
    W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ apt-get autoremove
    E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ ls
    Adobe Digital Editions.desktop output
    adobe-release-i386-1.0-1.noarch.rpm Personal
    bibleanalyzer.2 Photos
    bibles Pictures
    Calibre Library Practice.zip
    calligra Public
    DayJournal QuotingPassages.zip
    DEBIAN RKJNT.zip
    Desktop RWP.zip
    Documents sakis3g.gz
    Downloads Sample Album
    Dropbox SAOA.zip
    eSnipsDownloader.exe Smith.zip
    ESNIPS WINE DOWNLOADS StrongsGreek.zip
    ESP FILES StrongsHebrew.zip
    examples.desktop TCR.zip
    FIREDANCE TDavid.zip
    gVerse-0.5 Templates
    gVerse-0.5.tar.gz TEXT FILES AND GEDIT
    Java TFG.zip
    jsword-latest-bin.tar.gz Torrey(1).zip
    kde4 Torrey.zip
    libre and open office installations TSK.zip
    Link to bibleanalyzer.2 Ubuntu One
    MAGAZINE TEMPLATE UKJV.zip
    mods.d Untitled Folder
    modules Untitled Folder 3
    Music usr
    My Digital Editions Videos
    My eSnips Downloads WEBBE.zip
    NETtext (3) WEBME.zip
    NETtext.zip WebstersDict.zip
    NHEB.zip xdg
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$

    But if I go to the home folder and open it, Bibleanalyzer IS there and it the very first file.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Still deciding what to say.....

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australian in Germany
    Beans
    4,010
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

    This might get a bit long, but bear with it...

    Firstly, when you post a lot of output like in the last post, it is very helpful to use the code tags button. That is the # button at the top of the post window. Click on that and you will see the word "code" enclosed in square brackets, followed by /code also enclosed in square brackets. Paste your output between those and it will appear in a nice box. Most importantly, it will appear exactly as it is without any characters being interpreted as a smiley or something silly like that as happens sometimes.

    If you are posting a quote, you can use the button that looks like a speech balloon.

    So, on to your post...

    Firstly, near the top of your output, I see this

    Code:
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ bibleanalyzer
    bibleanalyzer: command not found
    There are two things there. Firstly, if you just put a word at the prompt, it is assumed to be a command. What I think you wanted at that point is to change into the directory that you had just created with mkdir (the command that means "make directory). To do this, you would have had to do
    Code:
    cd BibleAnalyzer
    Note also the capitals. The terminal is case sensitive. When I am doing things like this, I like to use ls to see what the name of the file or directory in question is exactly and often to actually copy and paste the name of the file into the command.

    A little further down there is this
    Code:
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ apt-get autoremove
    E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?
    What has happened there is that you tried to use apt-get autoremove as the normal user. You need to put a "sudo" in front of that so that it is executed with root privileges. This applies to all apt-get operations. You would need to do
    Code:
    sudo apt-get autoremove
    It will then do this
    Code:
    mick@mick-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get autoremove
    [sudo] password for mick:
    at which point you type in your password. You wont see what you type. Just type the password and hit enter and it will do it's thing.

    There is also this in there
    Code:
    W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ precise/partner i386 Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/archive.canonical.com_ubuntu_dists_precise_partner _binary-i386_Packages)
    W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
    So accordingly you would do
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    Then there is

    Code:
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ ls
    Adobe Digital Editions.desktop output
    adobe-release-i386-1.0-1.noarch.rpm Personal
    bibleanalyzer.2 Photos
    bibles Pictures
    Calibre Library Practice.zip
    calligra Public
    ...
    where you have used ls to generate a list of the contents of the /home/user folder, but I think you know that by now.

    I hope that is clear enough.

    In your screenshot, I can see a .deb file for BibleAnalyzer. This is, I take it, the file you used to install the program. If I recall correctly, you said in the first post or so that you had right clicked on it and used the Software centre to install it, or that the Software centre said it was already installed.

    That brings us back to the issue that you mentioned right at the start that you see an icon that looks like it would start the program but it doesn't. I don't really know what is causing that, but I think you mentioned problems with Open Office along similar lines. Maybe there is an issue that is not directly related to the program itself.

    Did you mention which version of Ubuntu you are using? And where exactly is the icon that you can see but doesn't work as you expect?
    Also, how did you install the other program that is behaving in an apparently similar manner? Was it from the software centre, installed by default, or installed from a .deb package in the same way that you installed BibleAnalyzer?
    Michael

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Yarnton, Oxfordshire
    Beans
    149
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How would I make Bible Analyzer actually work?

    Thank you everyone. I have tried everything and beyond the fact that I have the files, yet again, nothing is working which means either my brain is not working or somewhere I missed a vital step, or that there is something wrong with my system.

    If I go to my home folder the folder is there. I click on Home and it is the first file I see, given they arrange themselves in alphabetical order.

    When I click on properties I get the file name as bibleanalyzer, the type as folder (inode directory)

    Create and delete files is checked and I have permission for executing file checked.

    I downloaded as per instructions from here

    http://www.bibleanalyzer.com/linux.htm

    I also downloaded the BAmod script, and than is in the bibleanalyzer file.

    Following the instructions for the BAmodscript I get

    Code:
     code that will not copy and paste here but says there are no such files
    I have tried everything I can and every suggestion above. but just cannot get it to work.

    and if I click ls I get
    Code:
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$ ls
    Adobe Digital Editions.desktop       output
    adobe-release-i386-1.0-1.noarch.rpm  Personal
    bibleanalyzer                        Photos
    bibles                               Pictures
    Calibre Library                      Practice.zip
    calligra                             Public
    C:\nppdf32Log\debuglog.txt           QuotingPassages.zip
    DayJournal                           RKJNT.zip
    DEBIAN                               RWP.zip
    Desktop                              sakis3g.gz
    Documents                            Sample Album
    Downloads                            SAOA.zip
    Dropbox                              Smith.zip
    eSnipsDownloader.exe                 StrongsGreek.zip
    ESNIPS WINE DOWNLOADS                StrongsHebrew.zip
    ESP FILES                            TCR.zip
    examples.desktop                     TDavid.zip
    FIREDANCE                            Templates
    gVerse-0.5                           TEXT FILES AND GEDIT
    gVerse-0.5.tar.gz                    TFG.zip
    Java                                 Torrey(1).zip
    jsword-latest-bin.tar.gz             Torrey.zip
    kde4                                 TSK.zip
    libre and open office installations  Ubuntu One
    MAGAZINE TEMPLATE                    UKJV.zip
    mods.d                               Untitled Folder
    modules                              Untitled Folder 3
    Music                                usr
    My Digital Editions                  Videos
    My eSnips Downloads                  WEBBE.zip
    NETtext (3)                          WEBME.zip
    NETtext.zip                          WebstersDict.zip
    NHEB.zip                             xdg
    jacky@jacky-Aspire-6930G:~$
    so it IS there.,.....

    Oh dear is that something that I need to try and fix before anything else and could it be why I am having so much trouble?

    Could it also be I need to download some extra python script? I am not really sure what I would have in Ubuntu but thought it probably included what I need. I cannot really see what I would get from the software manager if I do need it so if I do please can someone tell me what I am looking for?

    I just looked for the bibleanalyzer program using 'Synapse' and it does not appear.

    Could the terminal conflict with the program?

    I did notice there are other places on the internet where people are suggesting there have been issues with this program.

    http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65252

    (one reason I do want it is because it was useful to me when I was using windows.) This does make it look like it might install under wine but I think I would need help to do that. I do have Wine but have not really figured out how to make things work with it.
    Last edited by Jackalyn; October 11th, 2012 at 11:55 AM.
    Still deciding what to say.....

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Yarnton, Oxfordshire
    Beans
    149
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How would I make Bible Analzer actually work?

    It installed perfectly under Wine! First time no problems..........

    Ah well I learned a lot on the way for using Linux.

    Thank you to everyone who helped me here. Hopefully some other newbie sometime will read this and go to the Wine option first. I don't know why they give a linux version if it does not work.
    Last edited by Jackalyn; October 11th, 2012 at 01:06 PM.
    Still deciding what to say.....

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •