Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Error: BrokenCount > 0

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Error: BrokenCount > 0

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    Hi

    Let's have a look at the ppa's you have installed on your system as well as tha main sources.list file.

    Open a terminal and type

    Code:
    grep -H -v ^# /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*
    This command is case sensitive so requires a capital H. Please post back the results.

    This is an upgrade from Natty ?

    Kind regards
    It was a little awhile ago when I installed this, but I think it might of been an upgrade from Natty. I have two different systems with dual-boot, so I sometimes forget which was installed which.

    Results:
    Code:
    Terminal:~$ grep -H -v ^# /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list:deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oneiric-partner.list:deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu precise partner #Added by software-center
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oneiric-partner.list.distUpgrade:deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu oneiric partner #Added by software-center
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:deb http://deb.opera.com/opera/ stable non-free #Opera Browser (final releases)
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:deb http://deb.opera.com/opera/ stable non-free #Opera Browser (final releases)
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Beans
    209
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Error: BrokenCount > 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Tovarishch View Post
    It was a little awhile ago when I installed this, but I think it might of been an upgrade from Natty. I have two different systems with dual-boot, so I sometimes forget which was installed which.

    Results:
    Code:
    Terminal:~$ grep -H -v ^# /etc/apt/sources.list.d/*
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list:deb http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oneiric-partner.list:deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu precise partner #Added by software-center
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oneiric-partner.list.distUpgrade:deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu oneiric partner #Added by software-center
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:deb http://deb.opera.com/opera/ stable non-free #Opera Browser (final releases)
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:deb http://deb.opera.com/opera/ stable non-free #Opera Browser (final releases)
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/opera.list.distUpgrade:
    That output makes it look like you upgraded from Oneiric to Precise.
    Asus K55A (Core i5-3210M @ 2.5GHz/8GB RAM/120GB SSD/Intel HD 4000) with Ubuntu 12.10 Beta 2
    Compaq Presario C700 (Pentium Dual-Core @ 1.6GHz/2.5GB RAM/500GB HDD/Intel GM965) with Arch Linux and Linux Mint Debian Edition

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tewkesbury uk
    Beans
    7,617
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Error: BrokenCount > 0

    Hi

    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oneiric-partner.list.distUpgrade:deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu oneiric partner #Added by software-center
    This ppa may be causing you a problem, i think, as it is for Oneric and you are using Precise.

    Let's move it out the way for the moment.

    Open a terminal and type (or copy and paste)..

    Code:
    sudo mv /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oneiric-partner.list.distUpgrade ~
    Enter your password. It will not be echoed to the screen. That will move that file to your home directory.

    Then type

    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    Then try

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install -f
    Do you still get the same error ? You may well do but i suspect that ppa is causing you at least some problems.

    Post back on the outcome and we can take it from there

    Kind regards
    Join us on irc at #ubuntuforums. For web chat see here

    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    Do not read newspapers on an empty stomach ~ Russian Proverb ~ BrunoLotse

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Beans
    209
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Error: BrokenCount > 0

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    This ppa may be causing you a problem, i think, as it is for Oneric and you are using Precise.
    The filename for that PPA ends in '.distUpgrade'. That means APT will already ignore it. APT only processes files ending in '.list'. Notice that there is a duplicate version that ends in '.list' but that has been updated for the 'precise' PPA. This is part of the way that the Ubuntu upgrade process works -- it disables your PPAs by renaming them with .distUpgrade, so that they are backed up but not active. So, this shouldn't be a source of the OP's problems. (If it is, there's a bug somewhere in APT!)
    Last edited by jrog; October 11th, 2012 at 03:57 PM.
    Asus K55A (Core i5-3210M @ 2.5GHz/8GB RAM/120GB SSD/Intel HD 4000) with Ubuntu 12.10 Beta 2
    Compaq Presario C700 (Pentium Dual-Core @ 1.6GHz/2.5GB RAM/500GB HDD/Intel GM965) with Arch Linux and Linux Mint Debian Edition

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tewkesbury uk
    Beans
    7,617
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Error: BrokenCount > 0

    Hi

    Quote Originally Posted by jrog View Post
    The filename for that PPA ends in '.distUpgrade'. That means APT will already ignore it. APT only processes files ending in '.list'. Notice that there is a duplicate version that ends in '.list' but that has been updated for the 'precise' PPA. This is part of the way that the Ubuntu upgrade process works -- it disables your PPAs by renaming them with .distUpgrade, so that they are backed up but not active. So, this shouldn't be a source of the OP's problems. (If it is, there's a bug somewhere in APT!)
    Good call. You are correct here.

    Kind regards
    Join us on irc at #ubuntuforums. For web chat see here

    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    Do not read newspapers on an empty stomach ~ Russian Proverb ~ BrunoLotse

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Error: BrokenCount > 0

    Quote Originally Posted by jrog View Post
    Check if that fixes it. If it doesn't, you can try a bit more drastically clearing out old stuff and updating, using the following commands:

    Code:
    sudo mv /var/lib/dpkg/status /var/lib/dpkg/status-bad
    sudo cp /var/lib/dpkg/status-old /var/lib/dpkg/status
    sudo mv /var/lib/dpkg/available /var/lib/dpkg/available-bad
    sudo cp /var/lib/dpkg/available-old /var/lib/dpkg/available
    sudo rm -rf /var/lib/dpkg/updates/*
    sudo rm -rf /var/lib/apt/lists/*
    sudo mkdir /var/lib/apt/lists/partial
    sudo rm /var/cache/apt/*.bin
    sudo apt-get clean
    sudo apt-get autoremove
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo dpkg --configure -a
    sudo apt-get install -f
    This has fixed the issue entirely, and now my distro works great. Thanks!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Beans
    209
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Error: BrokenCount > 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Tovarishch View Post
    This has fixed the issue entirely, and now my distro works great. Thanks!
    Great! You're welcome!

    By the way, if you encounter issues like this again, there is a good reference on the Wiki about troubleshooting package manager issues; it includes many of the commands that I gave you, though we skipped a few and left out some steps that weren't likely to be necessary in your case. You can find it here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Pa...otingProcedure
    Asus K55A (Core i5-3210M @ 2.5GHz/8GB RAM/120GB SSD/Intel HD 4000) with Ubuntu 12.10 Beta 2
    Compaq Presario C700 (Pentium Dual-Core @ 1.6GHz/2.5GB RAM/500GB HDD/Intel GM965) with Arch Linux and Linux Mint Debian Edition

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •