Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: -w switch in top command on 12.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,100
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    -w switch in top command on 12.10

    how do i use the -w option in top
    Code:
    ~$ top -help
    	procps-ng version 3.3.3
    usage:	top -hv | -bcHiSs -d delay -n limit -u|U user | -p pid[,pid] -w [cols]
    ~$ top -n 1 -p \"3980\" -w %CPU
        top: bad pid '"3980"'
    ~$ top -n 1 -p 3980 -w %CPU
        top: unknown option '%'
    usage:    top -hv | -bcHiSs -d delay -n limit -u|U user | -p pid[,pid] -w [cols]
    ~$ top -n 1 -p 3980 -w CPU
        top: unknown option 'C'
    usage:    top -hv | -bcHiSs -d delay -n limit -u|U user | -p pid[,pid] -w [cols]
    ~$ top -n 1 -p 3980 -w "CPU"
        top: unknown option 'C'
    usage:    top -hv | -bcHiSs -d delay -n limit -u|U user | -p pid[,pid] -w [cols]
    ~$ top -n 1 -p 3980 -w [CPU]
        top: unknown option '['
    usage:    top -hv | -bcHiSs -d delay -n limit -u|U user | -p pid[,pid] -w [cols]
    ~$ top -n 1 -p 3980 -w "%CPU"
        top: unknown option '%'
    usage:    top -hv | -bcHiSs -d delay -n limit -u|U user | -p pid[,pid] -w [cols]
    ~$
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,604
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: top command

    Hi pqwoerituytrueiwoq.

    Are you using a ppa, or Quantal maybe?

    Regards.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    1,461
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: top command

    It's odd I don't see that option in my version of top. I wonder if that's something that's coming to the new version but hasn't been fully worked out yet or is buggy?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: top command

    Newer than the one on my 12.04 box:

    Code:
    top -help
            top: procps version 3.2.8
    usage:  top -hv | -bcisSH -d delay -n iterations [-u user | -U user] -p pid [,pid ...]
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,100
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: top command

    running 12.10
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: top command

    Bumped to QQ.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    212

    Re: top command

    fda
    -w : Output-width-override as: -w [ number ]
    In 'Batch' mode, when used without an argument top will format output using the COLUMNS= and LINES= envi‐ronment variables, if set. Otherwise, width will be fixed at the maximum 512 columns. With an argument, output width can be decreased or increased (up to 512) but the number of rows is considered unlimited.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •