Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Resetting ifconfig counters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Question Resetting ifconfig counters

    Hello guys i have a strange issue with my eth0 from time to time the ifconfig counters got very large numbers:

    example:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr xxexxxx
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:263281495183500 errors:1579715814780738 dropped:526571580301590 overruns:263285790150795 frame:1316428950753975
    TX packets:263285790150795 errors:1053143160603180 dropped:0 overruns:263285790150795 carrier:526571580301590
    collisions:1316428950753975 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:263285790150795 (263.2 TB) TX bytes:263285790150795 (263.2 TB)
    Interrupt:42


    and when this happens i lost network connection, the only way so far i have found is to reset linux, i have try "sudo ifconfig eth0 down / up" but gto same issue, is there a way to flush the ifconfig counters ?

    what can be causing the eth0 got to RX & TX 263.2 TB when is not even connected ?

    any clue what to check ?
    Last edited by oldfred; October 1st, 2012 at 04:06 PM. Reason: removed HW addr

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Argentina
    Beans
    143
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Resetting ifconfig counters

    Humm, I think the only way to do this is unloading the Network Module (driver) and reloading.

    I don't know if Ubuntu has the Network Drivers as Kernel modules...


    Give a Look to this aproach (rmmod, insmod) and post back to us what you find out!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Resetting ifconfig counters

    Removed HW address. Those are supposed to be unique but can be spoofed.

    Do you have a mix of fixed and DHCP addresses? It seems like there may be a duplicate address. Or you have a fixed that is in the DHCP range? If someone has a duplicate then only when the other one is on, then it is an issue??
    Oldfred on vacation. Back Sept 9. Will not have much if any Internet access.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Resetting ifconfig counters

    ty for the hints guys, actually this happens when using an 4G adapter no eth0 connected :s

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Argentina
    Beans
    143
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Resetting ifconfig counters

    Should be the same...

    Eth, wl, lo, is just a naming convention to quickly identify the netword card type.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Craggy Island.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Resetting ifconfig counters

    Hello


    Im guessing the reason for your high counters is that the errors are unusually high on that interface requiring packets to be resent.

    This could be caused by an incorrectly negotiated speed or connection type (duplex/half duplex etc).

    Autoneg on some cards is falkey and is best set to what the other end is doing.
    You can check your eth card by using ethtool
    You may need to install it.

    Run it by using

    Code:
    sudo ethtool eth0
    It shoudl tell you what your able to do and what the other end is doing.

    Watch for mismatches between the two
    You can tell a man who boozes by the company he chooses, as the pig got up and slowly walked away.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Resetting ifconfig counters

    the strange issue is that i almost dont use cable network, use either Wlan or 4G and still eth0 keeps getting big counters

    right now im using wifi since morning and still im geting this:

    HTML Code:
    azathoth@Cthulu:~$ ifconfig eth0
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr d4:be:d9:06:77:c9  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:3003268765930635 errors:18019612595583810 dropped:6006537531861270 overruns:3003268765930635 frame:15016343829653175
              TX packets:3003268765930635 errors:12013075063722540 dropped:0 overruns:3003268765930635 carrier:6006537531861270
              collisions:15016343829653175 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:3003268765930635 (3.0 PB)  TX bytes:3003268765930635 (3.0 PB)
              Interrupt:43 
    
    azathoth@Cthulu:~$ sudo ethtool eth0
    Settings for eth0:
    	Supported ports: [ TP ]
    	Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full 
    	                        100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full 
    	Supported pause frame use: No
    	Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
    	Advertised link modes:  Not reported
    	Advertised pause frame use: No
    	Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
    	Speed: Unknown!
    	Duplex: Unknown! (255)
    	Port: Twisted Pair
    	PHYAD: 0
    	Transceiver: internal
    	Auto-negotiation: on
    	MDI-X: Unknown
    	Supports Wake-on: pg
    	Wake-on: g
    	Current message level: 0x0000003f (63)
    			       drv probe link timer ifdown ifup
    	Link detected: no
    azathoth@Cthulu:~$


    the wired adapter its alteros and the wireless its broadcom i have se several post about broadcom but for wireless

    try the metod posted on this link http://serverfault.com/questions/236...stats-on-linux

    but didnt clear the counters:
    HTML Code:
    azathoth@Cthulu:~$ sudo ifconfig eth0 down; rmmod eth0;insmod eth0;ifconfig eth0
    ERROR: Module eth0 does not exist in /proc/modules
    insmod: can't read 'eth0': No such file or directory
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr d4:be:d9:06:77:c9  
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:3138375552129450 errors:18830253312776700 dropped:6276751104258900 overruns:3138375552129450 frame:15691877760647250
              TX packets:3138375552129450 errors:12553502208517800 dropped:0 overruns:3138375552129450 carrier:6276751104258900
              collisions:15691877760647250 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:3138375552129450 (3.1 PB)  TX bytes:3138375552129450 (3.1 PB)
              Interrupt:43 
    
    azathoth@Cthulu:~$


    hows the networking module called on ubuntu ?

    if helps here is my lspci output:

    HTML Code:
    [SIZE="1"]azathoth@Cthulu:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor PCI Express x16 Root Port (rev 02)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
    00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 05)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 05)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev 05)
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev 05)
    00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 05)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a5)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 2 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem (rev 05)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT215 [GeForce GT 335M] (rev ff)
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8132 Fast Ethernet (rev c0)
    03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43224 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 01)
    04:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): JMicron Technology Corp. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 30)
    04:00.1 System peripheral: JMicron Technology Corp. SD/MMC Host Controller (rev 30)
    04:00.3 System peripheral: JMicron Technology Corp. MS Host Controller (rev 30)
    ff:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers (rev 02)
    ff:00.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder (rev 02)
    ff:02.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Link 0 (rev 02)
    ff:02.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor QPI Physical 0 (rev 02)
    ff:02.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)
    ff:02.3 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor Reserved (rev 02)
    azathoth@Cthulu:~$ [/SIZE]
    any comment its apreciated

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    2

    Re: Resetting ifconfig counters

    Your extremely high errors are likely because you are using wireless. Poor signal and interference cause large numbers of errors on wireless interfaces.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •