Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Monitor is detected as laptop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Monitor is detected as laptop

    I recently installed Ubuntu. My monitor is detected as a laptop and I can't change my resolution higher than 1024x768. My monitor is 1440x900.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Athens, Alabama
    Beans
    633
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by snipeshot View Post
    I recently installed Ubuntu. My monitor is detected as a laptop and I can't change my resolution higher than 1024x768. My monitor is 1440x900.
    Could it be as simple as a driver issue? Have you looked for restricted drivers that might be available for the graphic card you're using? (You can do this from the "restricted drivers" option in the menus)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    1,151

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    Code:
    xrandr -q
    ?
    (\ /)
    (O.o)
    (> <)
    This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by daslinkard View Post
    Could it be as simple as a driver issue? Have you looked for restricted drivers that might be available for the graphic card you're using? (You can do this from the "restricted drivers" option in the menus)
    I can't find a "restricted drivers" option.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by idoitprone View Post
    Code:
    xrandr -q
    ?
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
    default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1280x1024 0.0*
    1024x768 0.0
    800x600 0.0
    640x480 0.0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Athens, Alabama
    Beans
    633
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    What happens when you run the following sudo command?
    Code:
    sudo jockey-gtk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by daslinkard View Post
    What happens when you run the following sudo command?
    Code:
    sudo jockey-gtk
    It says
    (jockey-gtk:2023): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_icon_set_render_icon_pixbuf: assertion `icon_set != NULL' failed

    (jockey-gtk:2023): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_icon_set_render_icon_pixbuf: assertion `icon_set != NULL' failed

    then opens a program called additional drivers, which says no proprietary drivers are in use on this system.

  8. #8
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    google around "ubuntu yourmonitormodel"

    often such kind of issue is due to how the monitor is linked (vga/hdmi/...) or the cord itself.

    and which is the graphic card/chipset used ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Beans
    558
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    is your monitor connected directly to the computer or is there a kvm switch in between? ...believe it or not, but this can make a difference (and can be cured).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Monitor is detected as laptop

    Quote Originally Posted by surfer View Post
    is your monitor connected directly to the computer or is there a kvm switch in between? ...believe it or not, but this can make a difference (and can be cured).
    It is connected directly

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •