Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Beans
    61
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Hello!

    I know there are alternate / more efficient ways to do a DAW and PC workstation, but I'd like to proceed with the U/US dual boot, as I'm not sure my computer will be entirely stable with US.

    Here's what I'd like to do:

    1- keep my current configuration primary. I have Ubuntu 11.10 running well with a Vista dual boot (sucks, but at least I can watch Netflix). I want the standard install of Ubuntu 11.10 to be my primary Ubuntu, i.e. i want it to update and carry the boot loader.

    I don't want to hose my U11.10 install, as I have it running swimmingly for work / VPN right now.

    2- install Ubuntu Studio 11.10 on a separate partition called uStudio that I have already set up with gParted.

    **It may be a n00b question, but I feel like I'm not the only one out there that would like this setup; could somebody provide a step by step to create this setup?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,193
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Just install UbuntuStudio to the partition you have made for it. Make shure that you choose that one, and set it as "/" mountpoint.
    You can use existing swap partition. Set it as swap.
    Last thing you need to do is to NOT install grub, because you want Ubuntu to be the boot boss.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Beans
    61
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Thanks jejeman; I'll give that a shot and post the results.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Beans
    61
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Everything went swimmingly, with one minor exception:

    all i had to do was run
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    and all is well with Ubuntu Studio.

    Thanks for the help!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,193
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Yes, that was expected that you needed to mannualy update grub.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Quote Originally Posted by xianbei View Post
    Everything went swimmingly, with one minor exception:

    all i had to do was run
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    and all is well with Ubuntu Studio.

    Thanks for the help!
    grub-customizer makes the process painless also.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    If the mounting point for the ubuntu studio partition is "/" (root), then what's the mounting point for the ubuntu primary partition?

    Since it is not possible to mount different partitions in the same mounting point.

    I'm trying to install ubuntu AND ubuntu studio (no windows in this computer), and still can't figure it out, considering the different kernel they use.

    My intent is:

    Primary partition (sda1), ext4: Ubuntu 12.04, mounting point??
    Logical partition (sda5), ext4: Ubuntu Studio 12.04, mounting point??
    Logical partition (sda6), ext4: My files, mounting point /home
    Logical partition (sda7): swap.

    I understand from posts in this thread that after the installation, I have to manually use the terminal in the ubuntu to run: sudo update-grub

    And after that it will have to work.

    So the only problem for me is knowing the mounting points.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,193
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    For both mounting point is / when it is system partition.
    When you install Ubuntu sda1 is /, sda5 has no mount point. You don't really need to use this partition while in ubuntu.
    When you install ubuntuStudio sda5 is /, sda1 has no mount point.

    I don't know if it is wise to share home folder.

    Well I guess you may need to update grub, but I doubt, because the last instalation would update grub. Unless you skip installation of grub.
    Last edited by jejeman; July 30th, 2012 at 02:05 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Thank you!

    I had to update the grub (sudo update-grub), and finally i chose not to share the home folder.

    So now I have:

    ubuntu partition (primary, mounting point "/")
    ubuntu's home partition (logical, mounting point "/home")
    swap partition (i hope both ubuntus share this) logical.
    ubuntu studio partition (logical, mounting point "/")
    ubuntu studio's home partition (logical, mounting point "/home")

    looks like it's working!

    thanks for your help!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    3

    Re: dual boot ubuntu 11.10 AND ubuntu studio 11.10

    Quote Originally Posted by jejeman View Post
    Just install UbuntuStudio to the partition you have made for it. Make shure that you choose that one, and set it as "/" mountpoint.
    You can use existing swap partition. Set it as swap.
    Last thing you need to do is to NOT install grub, because you want Ubuntu to be the boot boss.
    Excuse the noob question but... How does one avoid installing/overwriting grub?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •