Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 138

Thread: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    83
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    Quote Originally Posted by SummerT View Post
    OK, I put in settings you suggested on ip4 automatic, ip6 ignore, connect automatically, etc. I was not able to get an established connection. Also, I did the sudo dhcclient eth0 and nothing happened.

    Then I put manual static IP and connection established but the server was still not found when trying to get into Firefox.

    I did an ifconfig -a again for curiosity and actually a new set of information came up listed as:
    eth0:avahi
    It also included an inet address of 176.263.9.221
    Broadcast is 176.263.255.255
    mask is 255.255.0.0

    Also looked at Network Tools at the ethernet interface it says multicast enabled. But I noticed that the loopback interface said the multicast was disabled. Not sure if this means anything, does it?

    I then pinged the IP above. And it came up listed as my computer's name local. I pinged the words "google.com" and it said network not found.

    I did a trace route on 176.263.9.221 and it said our computer local reached

    I then typed in Route and it came up "kernel ip routing table" see below
    Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    default * 0.0.0.0. u 1002 0 0 eth0
    lin-local * 255.255.0.0 u 1 0 0 eth0


    I did a Route -n and got the following:

    destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    0.0.0.0. 0000 0.0.0.0. u 1002 0 0 eth0
    176.263.9.221 0000 255.255.0.0 u 1 0 0 eth0

    Let me know what to do next. Thank you!
    In this post you got an ip with "eth0:avahi". Maybe there is no dhcp server on this network.
    Your first step, learn the command line man intro man man man bash

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4,579

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    ... or maybe it is configured to only accept connections from / serve addresses to the old computer's MAC (I mentioned this earlier I think)

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    The avahi code result after I put in the ifconfig -a only came up once, actually so I'm not sure what happened with that. Currently it is not listed as that.

    As far as the mac address goes, yes, in the settings the mac address is in there. What can I do to get my mac address to work with the modem?

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4,579

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    Honestly, you've been given so much different advice, and have tried so many different things, the chances are everything is a bit of a dog's breakfast now

    In your shoes here's what I'd probably do:

    1. make sure your /etc/network/interfaces file contains ONLY the loopback (lo) definition, i.e.

    Code:
    $ cat /etc/network/interfaces
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    $
    2. stop both network services (one or other may already be stopped so you may get a message 'stop: Unknown instance:' )

    Code:
    sudo service networking stop
    sudo service network-manager stop
    3. remove any non-default connection profiles from network-manager

    Code:
    sudo rm -f /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/*
    4. make sure the computer is connected to the modem and then restart the network-manager service

    Code:
    sudo service network-manager start
    This should at least get you back to square one (a single, default wired interface) - from there we can try to figure out why the interface / DHCP is not coming up correctly - do NOT edit the connection at this point, nm is pretty good at setting up a default wired connection without manual intervention

    If you want to get down into the muck and bullets you could then try this:

    5. start a tcpdump monitor session looking at your wired interface for traffic on the DHCP ports

    Code:
    sudo tcpdump -i eth0 -vvv -s 1500 '(port 67 or port 68)'
    (it will appear to hang - just leave it open in the terminal)

    6. go to the nm-applet and select 'Disconnect' - and then try to reconnect to the default wired interface (probably called 'Wired interface 1')

    You *should* see (in the tcpdump terminal) some DHCP negotiation packets being exchanged between the computer and the modem's DHCP server (if it has one) as it tries to reconnect

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    Thanks Steeldriver
    going to try it now and will let you know what happens

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    Questions are in red below.

    Hey. First of all, here are the system network connections I have before putting in the below codes:

    wired connection1
    connect automatically
    mac address is listed
    available to all users (clicked)
    mtu: automatic bytes
    ipv4 settings: automatic dhcp, no addresses, no dns servers, no search domains (both in grey), dhcp client id (blank), require ip4 addressing for this connection to complete (clicked), available to all users (clicked)
    ipv6 settings: automatic, connect automaticlly, available to all users



    Code:

    $ cat /etc/network/interfaces



    Result:

    auto lo

    iface lo inet loopback


    Code:

    sudo service networking stop

    Result:

    stop: Unknown instance:


    Code:

    sudo rm -f/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections

    Code:
    $ sudo rm -f /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/


    Result:

    rm: cannot remove `/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/': Is a directory

    Code:

    $ sudo tcpdump -i eth0 -vvv -s 1500
    (note: I did not include the info with the parentheses '(port 67 or port 68)' in my code. Do I need to do this? It looked like it wasn't part of the instruction, but something to look for. If I need to re-enter the code with the info inside the parentheses, please let me know how exactly to write this.



    Result: (posting what is coming up so far....but it is still running for a while...and hasn't stopped...) - DO I TRY TO RECONNECT ON WIRED CONNECTION 1 WHILE THIS IS STILL RUNNING? WHEN I GO INTO THE UPPER RIGHT HAND CORNER AND HIT THE NM APPLET, IT IS LISTED AS DISCONNECTED, SO I HADN'T HIT THE WIRED CONNECTION 1 BUTTON AS OF YET...PLEASE ADVISE)

    tcpdump: WARNING: eth0: no IPv4 address assigned

    tcpdump: listening on eth0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 1500 bytes

    22:47:18.970540 00:02:6f:87:c6:05 (oui Unknown) 802.1B I > Broadcast Null Unnumbered, test, Flags [Command], length 46

    22:47:25.627687 00:02:6f:87:c3:f7 (oui Unknown) 802.1B I > Broadcast Null Unnumbered, test, Flags [Command], length 46
    22:47:25.627687 00:02:6f:87:c3:f7 (oui Unknown) 802.1B I > Broadcast Null Unnumbered, test, Flags [Command], length 46

    22:47:26.916055 ARP, Ethernet (len 6), IPv4 (len 4), Request who-has 169.254.255.255 tell 10.71.0.116, length 46

    22:47:27.018420 IP6 (hlim 255, next-header UDP (17) payload length: 54) fe80::2b0:d0ff:fedc:9058.mdns > ff02::fb.mdns: [udp sum ok] 0 PTR (QM)? 255.255.254.169.in-addr.arpa. (46)

    22:47:28.020215 IP6 (hlim 255, next-header UDP (17) payload length: 54) fe80::2b0:d0ff:fedc:9058.mdns > ff02::fb.mdns: [udp sum ok] 0 PTR (QM)? 255.255.254.169.in-addr.arpa. (46)

    22:47:29.132249 ARP, Ethernet (len 6), IPv4 (len 4), Request who-has 10.71.0.116 tell 10.71.0.116, length 46

    22:47:30.023032 IP6 (hlim 255, next-header UDP (17) payload length: 54) fe80::2b0:d0ff:fedc:9058.mdns > ff02::fb.mdns: [udp sum ok] 0 PTR (QM)? 255.255.254.169.in-addr.arpa. (46)

    22:47:30.738837 00:02:6f:89:3a:09 (oui Unknown) 802.1B I > Broadcast Null Unnumbered, test, Flags [Command], length 46

    22:47:32.026163 IP6 (hlim 255, next-header UDP (17) payload length: 50) fe80::2b0:d0ff:fedc:9058.mdns > ff02::fb.mdns: [udp sum ok] 0 PTR (QM)? 116.0.71.10.in-addr.arpa. (42)

    22:47:33.025348 IP6 (hlim 255, next-header UDP (17) payload length: 50) fe80::2b0:d0ff:fedc:9058.mdns > ff02::fb.mdns: [udp sum ok] 0 PTR (QM)? 116.0.71.10.in-addr.arpa. (42)

    22:47:35.026480 IP6 (hlim 255, next-header UDP (17) payload length: 50) fe80::2b0:d0ff:fedc:9058.mdns > ff02::fb.mdns: [udp sum ok] 0 PTR (QM)? 116.0.71.10.in-addr.arpa. (42)

    22:47:37.630406 IP6 (hlim 255, next-header ICMPv6 (58) payload length: 16) fe80::7e11:beff:fe80:81f1 > ip6-allrouters: [icmp6 sum ok] ICMP6, router solicitation, length 16

    source link-address option (1), length 8 (1): 7c:11:be:80:81:f1

    0x0000: 7c11 be80 81f1

    22:47:40.747753 00:02:6f:89:3a:09 (oui Unknown) 802.1B I > Broadcast Null Unnumbered, test, Flags [Command], length 46

    22:48:06.337909 IP (tos 0x0, ttl 1, id 16990, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 54).....CODE CONTINUES TO RUN.....

    Please advise what to do next. Thanks

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    I tried to click wired connection 1 a few times while the code keeps rolling. It tries to connect, but then after a while, says "connection offlline". Every once in while, I will keep trying it and the same thing comes up.

    will the code keep running all night? will it stop if it finds a dchp connection that works?

    Please advise. Thanks.

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4,579

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    Hi

    You can hit Ctrl-C in the terminal window to kill the tcpdump process

    Yes you should have included the part in parentheses - that's what tells tcpdump to look specifically for DHCP traffic, there's no harm done by leaving it out but it makes it harder to read the output because the terminal will fill up with stuff you don't care about

    Also the command to delete any non-default connections didn't work because you left off the *

    Code:
    sudo rm -f /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections/*

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    I'll post the code result putting in the *. Thanks.

    I will put in the parentheses in the code as well. So it's exactly like this?:

    sudo tcpdump -i eth0 -vvv -s 1500 ('port 67 or port 68)'

    I'll try with the new code wording...thanks, we'll keep trying.....

    ___________________________________________

    Also, I copied some result with the words magic cookie and was curious what this was

    Here it is:


    Vendor-rfc1048 Extensions

    Magic Cookie 0x63825363

    DHCP-Message Option 53, length 1: Discover

    Hostname Option 12, length 8: "Computer"

    Parameter-Request Option 55, length 17:

    Subnet-Mask, BR, Time-Zone, Default-Gateway

    Domain-Name, Domain-Name-Server, Option 119, Hostname

    Netbios-Name-Server, Netbios-Scope, MTU, Classless-Static-Route

    NTP, Classless-Static-Route, Classless-Static-Route-Microsoft, Option 252

    NTP

    END Option 255, length 0

    PAD Option 0, length 0, occurs 27

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    93

    Re: wired says connected but can't connect to the internet

    okay I tied in the code with the * and the thing I noticed is instead of "wired connection" it started reading as "auto ethernet connection"

    Then I put the port 67 and port 68 line in and it came up as "warning IPV4 address not assigned" and hung there in the window

    I hit the autoethernet connection to try and connect and basically got the code I posted previously (the one with the magic cookie stuff in it)

    I left it and we'll see what happens after that

    Question: Do I keep hitting the auto ethernet button trying to connect? Or do I allow the code to keep running in the terminal? I'm not sure what is supposed to happen next

    Please advise
    Thanks

Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •