Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: One step cloning?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    6

    One step cloning?

    I have an already existing 10.4 OS on two laptops.

    To prepare for when and if one or both go out, is there a way to take a snapshot of OS and all files to make the start-up a a brand new laptop a one click job?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wabasha MN
    Beans
    2,345
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: One step cloning?

    This might be what you are looking for.
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/22145...buntu-live-cd/
    Remember that if the hardware is different from one system to another you could have some problems.
    My hometown on the Mississippi River.
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 750gig Hybrid.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    de9fdc5c1ade9d205ac5e2622
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: One step cloning?

    What exactly are you wanting? Something to restore one of the laptops to the other or something to restore the laptop to so that if it fails you can simply reload like nothing happened?

    AlphaA
    "Si Dieu n'existait pas, il faudrait l'inventer" -Voltaire

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    6

    Re: One step cloning?

    Thanks Irv. I will try Reconstructor out.

    Hey Alphaamanitin! "God is a comedian playing to an audience too afraid to laugh." HAHaHaHaHa!

    I am doing research and the company I am working for is buying new laptops, so I want to make installing Ubuntu and other programs (Gnu Radio specifically) a very simple and painless process.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: One step cloning?

    I don't know of any one step process, but you may want to check out clonezilla.

    Its actually for backing up an HDD or partitions, but I find it can also be used to load other computers. Ubuntu will usually see the change and automatically adjust its settings. It does have a one CD/DVD limit.

    Also if you know what make/model your company is buying you can check for compatibility. Video compatibility especially.

    And welcome to the forum

    oops, I forgot Remasters
    Last edited by jerrrys; September 25th, 2012 at 06:56 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    6

    Re: One step cloning?

    Okay guys. I appreciate the help so far and have chosen to go with Remastersys. I ran this command apt get install remastersys after adding this to the sources.list: deb http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository karmic/.

    I got this message:

    The program 'apt' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
    sudo apt-get install openjdk-6-jdk

    So I did and it loaded perfectly.

    But when I go to use it via either one of these routes: "sudo remastersys backup", or "sudo su" to become root and then run "remastersys dist"

    I get "remastersys: command not found".

    Any ideas?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    6,028

    Re: One step cloning?

    Quote Originally Posted by ahender1 View Post
    I am doing research and the company I am working for is buying new laptops, so I want to make installing Ubuntu and other programs (Gnu Radio specifically) a very simple and painless process.
    If you simply want to restore computers to a standard install then cloning is the way to go.

    Have a look at,
    http://www.fogproject.org/
    http://clonezilla.org/

    If you need more than that, ie controlling desktops, policies, software deploymenent etc etc (in essence managing corporate 10,000+ device environment) then let us know and we can post some links for you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: One step cloning?

    I cannot assist you with remastersys as I use clonezilla and rsync. But many use this package, I expect someone to drop in. Till then how bout some reading

    http://www.googlubuntu.com/results/?...Search&lang=en

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    6

    Re: One step cloning?

    Does clonezilla or rsync allow you to save the complete enviroment you have on a laptop. The reason for my asking is I want to save Ubuntu 10.04, but I also want to have GNU Radio, etc. saved as well. This is to save time from installing the GNU Radio software onto a new laptop, which can be time consuming at best.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Beans
    444
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: One step cloning?

    Quote Originally Posted by ahender1 View Post
    But when I go to use it via either one of these routes: "sudo remastersys backup", or "sudo su" to become root and then run "remastersys dist"

    I get "remastersys: command not found".

    Any ideas?
    Try the instructions and the forum on the www.remastersys.com website. I have been using remastersys for several years on Ubuntu and it has worked flawlessly for me. I did read the instructions and ask on the forums when necessary, but the gui for remastersys works well and explains what to do. I have never used remastersys from the command line - I never had to.

    Also search youtube for remastersys or remastering Ubuntu and you will find video instructions.
    Last edited by ezsit; October 3rd, 2012 at 11:17 PM.
    XFCE, From Now On!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •