Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

    First of all, hello everyone it's been ages.
    It has indeed. Welcome back!


    2- http://i48.tinypic.com/w8nor9.jpg

    This one is a bit tricky so I hope I will explain it as easy as possible.

    The main reason WHY I don't use Cairo-Dock on Lubuntu is the black box that appears on the background as you can see on the above screenshot.
    It doesn't matter whether I run Cairo-Dock (no OpenGL) or GLX-Dock (Cairo-Dock with OpenGL), I get exactly the same black box on both cases.
    My understanding is that openbox is not a compositing (i.e. things like transparency) window manager, thus things like cairo-dock don't work so well.

    3- http://i48.tinypic.com/w8nor9.jpg

    I have installed: compiz, compizconfig-setting-manager, compiz-plugins, fusion-icon.
    Everytime I login to the desktop, there is NO border for any window for any application I run. I found out that I can, yet again, temporary fix or get the border back by:
    http://i47.tinypic.com/2ynl3zc.jpg
    gtk-window-decorator is (I think) what compiz uses to draw window decorations by default. I think you my need to install the compiz-gnome package for it to be able to do that.

    NOT SURE if this has any relation with Cairo Dock (with AND without OpenGL - as explained before in #2) but everytime I do Reload Window Manger, the black box disappears.
    That's because compiz is a compositing window manager, and hence cairo-dock works fine.


    I forgot to mention that I can NOT use my Keyboard at all. I can't type anything. Reload will fix this but again, I have to re-do the Reload everytime I face this issue :/

    So, it is NOT only the border of any window but the keyboard as well.
    YES, my keyboard is fine because right after I Reload the Window Manager, it works perfectly.
    If the WM dies, then applications can't gain focus in the normal way, and as such your keyboard may appear to not work.

    I hope I've shed some light on your problems, although how I have no clue how to fix it.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    StartUbuntu
    Beans
    4,244
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Update

    Quote Originally Posted by amjjawad View Post
    1- https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...el/+bug/970758

    Simply, it is still happening.
    Usually, if you, for example:

    Menu > System Tools > Task Manager

    Once you click on "Task Manager", the application will start and the menu will disappear. Prefect so far.

    BUT ...

    Menu > System Tools > Task Manager > Right Click on Task Manager

    Will produce the bug I posted above. The menu will NOT disappear UNLESS you go back and click on the menu icon. Clicking on the Desktop is USELESS.
    Before, I thought "Add to Desktop" is the reason but I just found out that the trigger is actually the right click on any entry on any sub-menu.
    By the way, Cairo-Dock and Compiz both have absolutely nothing to do with that bug. I have tested it before installing both applications and it is still happening

    HOW to fix that?
    FOR THIS ISSUE, PLEASE SEE: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2065519


    Quote Originally Posted by amjjawad View Post
    4- http://i46.tinypic.com/345fybs.jpg

    I'm aware that 12.10 will be shipped with GRUB version 2 but I'm still using GRUB 1.99 as shown in the above screenshot.

    I was very surprised after I did the installation and updated GRUB from the main system that I have on that machine which is Lubuntu 12.04.

    Why there are 3 entries instead of 2?
    If I'm not mistaken:

    Ubuntu' --class ubuntu --class gun-linux --class gnu --class os ....etc

    Ubuntu, with Linux 3.5.0-15-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os ....etc

    Ubuntu, with Linux 3.5.0-15-generic (recovery mode )' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os ....etc
    When I choose the first two in red, I guess I get the same result. But again, why there are two? are they different or the same?
    FOR THIS ISSUE, PLEASE SEE THIS: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2065520

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    StartUbuntu
    Beans
    4,244
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Arrow Re: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

    Quote Originally Posted by amjjawad View Post
    2- http://i48.tinypic.com/w8nor9.jpg

    This one is a bit tricky so I hope I will explain it as easy as possible.

    The main reason WHY I don't use Cairo-Dock on Lubuntu is the black box that appears on the background as you can see on the above screenshot.
    It doesn't matter whether I run Cairo-Dock (no OpenGL) or GLX-Dock (Cairo-Dock with OpenGL), I get exactly the same black box on both cases.

    Every time I start my machine and login to Lubuntu 12.10, I see that Box.
    I had this issue before with the previous releases of Lubuntu. However, I found out this time how to temporary fix it, or maybe I should use a more realistic word that fix it, I managed to get rid of that box and this will be explained in the next point.

    3- http://i48.tinypic.com/w8nor9.jpg

    I have installed: compiz, compizconfig-setting-manager, compiz-plugins, fusion-icon.
    Everytime I login to the desktop, there is NO border for any window for any application I run. I found out that I can, yet again, temporary fix or get the border back by:
    http://i47.tinypic.com/2ynl3zc.jpg

    Reload Window Manager did the trick but everytime I login to the desktop, I have the same issue and I need to repeat that process over and over again.

    NOT SURE if this has any relation with Cairo Dock (with AND without OpenGL - as explained before in #2) but everytime I do Reload Window Manger, the black box disappears.

    ----------------
    AND
    ----------------
    I forgot to mention that I can NOT use my Keyboard at all. I can't type anything. Reload will fix this but again, I have to re-do the Reload everytime I face this issue :/

    So, it is NOT only the border of any window but the keyboard as well.
    YES, my keyboard is fine because right after I Reload the Window Manager, it works perfectly.

    My Questions here:
    Why it is happening?
    How to fix this? so that everytime I login to my Lubuntu 12.10 desktop, I don't need to Reload anything.

    By the way, I have followed this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CompositeManager
    and I replaced OpenBox with Compiz as in this:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Co...1.10_and_12.04

    Last night, I ran:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    and apparently, the two issues explained above are no longer exist but I need to keep testing the system and check if it's 100% solved or what? will keep you posted

    Thanks!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    StartUbuntu
    Beans
    4,244
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Unhappy Re: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

    http://i50.tinypic.com/2zf019j.jpg

    I thought it is fixed but NOT yet
    I still have to click on "Reload Window Manager" right after I login to the Desktop so that the black box disappear and I get the window's border back.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

    Quote Originally Posted by amjjawad View Post
    http://i50.tinypic.com/2zf019j.jpg

    I thought it is fixed but NOT yet
    I still have to click on "Reload Window Manager" right after I login to the Desktop so that the black box disappear and I get the window's border back.
    I have no idea. I'm thinking that cairo-dock might be loading while openbox is still loaded and compiz hasn't replaced it yet. I don't know how you'd fix that, try putting "sleep 2;" in front of the cairo-dock command (where you put that).

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    StartUbuntu
    Beans
    4,244
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

    Quote Originally Posted by MG&TL View Post
    I have no idea. I'm thinking that cairo-dock might be loading while openbox is still loaded and compiz hasn't replaced it yet. I don't know how you'd fix that, try putting "sleep 2;" in front of the cairo-dock command (where you put that).
    http://i46.tinypic.com/2croapg.jpg

    I have already replaced Openbox with Compiz as per the Wiki Page I have mentioned before.

    I have reported this: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...z/+bug/1061282

    I don't have any better idea as of now

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

    Quote Originally Posted by amjjawad View Post
    http://i46.tinypic.com/2croapg.jpg

    I have already replaced Openbox with Compiz as per the Wiki Page I have mentioned before.
    My apologies. The wiki page I read basically said 'replace openbox with compiz as soon as the session loads', which is what I ended up doing.

    Anyways, sorry I couldn't help more.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    StartUbuntu
    Beans
    4,244
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: Some issues that I'm not sure how to fix?!

    Well, so far so good. I was fine, after some updates, it back to misbehave and now, it's ok. Will keep watching.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •