Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    I'm having trouble with a second monitor in a fresh installation of 12.04LTS. I'm on a desktop with an ATI Radeon 7500 and I have two identical LG monitors that each support 1920x1080. The second monitor is connected with HDMI and seems to work fine at resolutions less than 1920x1080. The DVI monitor is working correctly at 1920x1080. I've been trying to follow various posts on these forums, installing fglrx and the updated version as well. I've also set the resolution for both monitors in the Catalyst Control Center as well as in the Ubuntu Displays setting, and everything is set to 1920x1080. Am I missing a modeline or something? Can anyone tell me why the monitor works for everything except this resolution? I'm pretty stuck at this point. Thanks so much in advance for any advice at all.

    Perhaps I have installed the drivers incorrectly, or in the wrong order?

    Additionally, fglrxinfo yields the following:
    display: :0 screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon HD 7500 Series
    OpenGL version string: 4.2.11627 Compatibility Profile Context

    A copy of my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file is pasted here:

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "amdcccle Layout"
    Screen 0 "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0" 0 0
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "0-DFP5"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
    Option "TargetRefresh" "60"
    Option "Position" "1920 0"
    Option "Rotate" "normal"
    Option "Disable" "false"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "0-DFP6"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
    Option "TargetRefresh" "60"
    Option "Position" "0 0"
    Option "Rotate" "normal"
    Option "Disable" "false"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATI radeon 6870"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "Monitor-DFP5" "0-DFP5"
    Option "Monitor-DFP6" "0-DFP6"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
    Device "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Virtual 3840 1920
    1,1 Top


    The xrandr command yields:

    xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3840 x 1080, maximum 3840 x 1920
    DFP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DFP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DFP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DFP4 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DFP5 connected 1920x1080+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 290mm
    1920x1080 60.0*+ 50.0 59.9 30.0 25.0 30.0
    1776x1000 50.0 59.9 25.0 30.0
    1680x1050 50.0 60.0
    1400x1050 50.0 60.0
    1600x900 50.0 60.0
    1360x1024 50.0 60.0
    1280x1024 50.0 75.0 60.0
    1440x900 50.0 60.0
    1280x960 50.0 75.0 60.0
    1152x864 50.0 59.9 75.0
    1280x768 50.0 75.0 60.0
    1280x720 60.0 50.0 59.9
    1024x768 50.0 75.0 60.0
    1152x648 50.0 59.9
    800x600 50.0 75.0 60.3 56.2
    720x480 50.0 60.0 59.9
    640x480 50.0 75.0 60.0 59.9
    DFP6 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 290mm
    1920x1080 59.9*+
    1680x1050 60.0
    1400x1050 60.0
    1600x900 60.0
    1360x1024 60.0
    1280x1024 75.0 60.0
    1440x900 60.0
    1280x960 75.0 60.0
    1152x864 59.9 75.0
    1280x768 75.0 60.0
    1280x720 75.0 60.0
    1024x768 75.0 60.0
    800x600 75.0 60.3 56.2
    640x480 75.0 59.9
    CRT1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


    Any advice at all is greatly appreciated, pretty stumped on this one.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Did you copy your entire xorg.conf correctly?

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
            Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Virtual   3840 1920
                    1,1           Top
    is odd. The Section and SubSection are not matched with EndSubSection and EndSection

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
            Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Virtual   3840 1920
                    1,1           Top
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Take a look at that again.

    Not that that's all that may be wrong here, but I'm checking out the rest.

    Here's mine, by way of example

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "0-DFP3"
        Option        "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option        "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option        "DPMS" "true"
        Option        "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
        Option        "TargetRefresh" "60"
        Option        "Position" "0 0"
        Option        "Rotate" "normal"
        Option        "Disable" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "0-DFP4"
        Option        "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option        "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option        "DPMS" "true"
        Option        "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
        Option        "TargetRefresh" "61"
        Option        "Position" "1920 0"
        Option        "Rotate" "normal"
        Option        "Disable" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Default Screen"
        DefaultDepth    24
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
        Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
            Viewport   0 0
            Virtual   3840 1920
            Depth     24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load  "glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "amdcccle Layout"
        Screen      0  "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0" 0 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        Option        "Monitor-DFP3" "0-DFP3"
        Option        "Monitor-DFP4" "0-DFP4"
        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    Last edited by QIII; September 22nd, 2012 at 05:43 AM.
    The Community Java Wiki * The Community ATI Driver Wiki * Find what you need in the Ubuntu Community wikis

    And seeing the terror on the faces of the people, QIII did speak to them, saying "Fear not the Terminal, for it is a road both swift and secure to the Great Mysteries of Linux without passing through the dangers of The Land of Ten Thousand Competing Desktop Environments."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by QIII View Post
    Did you copy your entire xorg.conf correctly?

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
            Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Virtual   3840 1920
                    1,1           Top
    is odd. The Section and SubSection are not matched with EndSubSection and EndSection

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
            Device     "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Virtual   3840 1920
                    1,1           Top
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Take a look at that again.

    Not that that's all that may be wrong here, but I'm checking out the rest.
    I must have messed up the copy/paste somehow. So embarrassing! Here is the current version:

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "amdcccle Layout"
    Screen 0 "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0" 0 0
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "0-DFP5"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
    Option "TargetRefresh" "60"
    Option "Position" "1920 0"
    Option "Rotate" "normal"
    Option "Disable" "false"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "0-DFP6"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
    Option "TargetRefresh" "60"
    Option "Position" "0 0"
    Option "Rotate" "normal"
    Option "Disable" "false"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "ATI radeon 6870"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "Monitor-DFP5" "0-DFP5"
    Option "Monitor-DFP6" "0-DFP6"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "amdcccle-Screen[1]-0"
    Device "amdcccle-Device[1]-0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Virtual 3840 1920
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Do you have Xinerama on?
    The Community Java Wiki * The Community ATI Driver Wiki * Find what you need in the Ubuntu Community wikis

    And seeing the terror on the faces of the people, QIII did speak to them, saying "Fear not the Terminal, for it is a road both swift and secure to the Great Mysteries of Linux without passing through the dangers of The Land of Ten Thousand Competing Desktop Environments."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by QIII View Post
    Do you have Xinerama on?
    In Catalyst Control Center the Xinerama box is grayed out because I "currently have only one desktop enabled". Not sure what this means. I do not desire cloned monitors, but rather a big single desktop that spans both monitors, which is what I have now except the second monitor's resolution is wacky. Even though its set to 1920x1080, it appears significantly smaller than that, not filling up the entire monitor.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Ack. Yeah. Xinerama wouldn't be available, then.

    Which driver do you have and how did you install it?
    The Community Java Wiki * The Community ATI Driver Wiki * Find what you need in the Ubuntu Community wikis

    And seeing the terror on the faces of the people, QIII did speak to them, saying "Fear not the Terminal, for it is a road both swift and secure to the Great Mysteries of Linux without passing through the dangers of The Land of Ten Thousand Competing Desktop Environments."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by QIII View Post
    Ack. Yeah. Xinerama wouldn't be available, then.

    Which driver do you have and how did you install it?
    I've been trying different drivers. How can I determine which one is currently in use?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by QIII View Post
    Ack. Yeah. Xinerama wouldn't be available, then.

    Which driver do you have and how did you install it?
    jockey-text -l
    xorg:fglrx_updates - ATI/AMD proprietary FGLRX graphics driver (post-release updates) (Proprietary, Disabled, Not in use)
    kmod:wl - Broadcom STA wireless driver (Proprietary, Enabled, In use) [auto-install]
    xorg:fglrx - ATI/AMD proprietary FGLRX graphics driver (Proprietary, Enabled, In use)


    I believe I installed this from Synaptic, which is 'supposed' to remove conflicting items.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Let's get back to that in a minute. I'm going to have you cat something, but it'll return a lot of info and I'll have to tell you where to look. I want to check something before we go into all that.

    First...

    Open CCC.

    Under "Display Manager", click each of your monitors. On the "Adjustments" tab, make sure each of them has "Use display for scaling" checked and Graphics processor scaling is set to "Scale image to full panel size"

    Edited: Removed some text in case someone follows this. Solution below.
    Last edited by QIII; September 22nd, 2012 at 06:43 AM.
    The Community Java Wiki * The Community ATI Driver Wiki * Find what you need in the Ubuntu Community wikis

    And seeing the terror on the faces of the people, QIII did speak to them, saying "Fear not the Terminal, for it is a road both swift and secure to the Great Mysteries of Linux without passing through the dangers of The Land of Ten Thousand Competing Desktop Environments."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: ATI Radeon 7500 Wrong Resolution Dual Monitor with HDMI

    Quote Originally Posted by QIII View Post
    Let's get back to that in a minute. I'm going to have you cat something, but it'll return a lot of info and I'll have to tell you where to look. I want to check something before we go into all that.

    First...

    Open CCC.

    Under "Display Manager", click each of your monitors. On the "Adjustments" tab, make sure each of them has "Use display for scaling" checked and Graphics processor scaling is set to "Scale image to full panel size"

    EDIT: OK, hold the boat! A couple of things. Let me have a moment to type. Be right back.
    Confirmed that those items are indeed checked.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •