Thread: What security for wpa2 hotspot? Ubuntu 12.04

Beans

What security for wpa2 hotspot? Ubuntu 12.04

Ubuntu newbie here. And maybe a little paranoid concerning security.

The building where my office is located offers free wifi for its tenants (wpa2 - tenants are given the network password.) I'm still leary of using it because I'm not sure what kind of security I should be running on my laptop using Ubuntu 12.04. To me, it kind of feels like an "open" network among us tenants.

I have firestarter running on my laptop but understand it is a basic firewall and may not be as robust as I need. What should I be running or doing to keep my computers safe at work?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: What security for wpa2 hotspot? Ubuntu 12.04

You should be fine. If you are sure the access point in WPA2, random people off the street would be unable to connect to it.

Now, because you do not own that network, assume anything you do on it is monitored. I would not use "Free wifi" for work related stuff.

If it was me, I would be using a net connection in the office building itself, not some "free wifi" offered by the building owners, but call me paranoid.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    You should be fine. If you are sure the access point in WPA2, random people off the street would be unable to connect to it.

Now, because you do not own that network, assume anything you do on it is monitored. I would not use "Free wifi" for work related stuff.

If it was me, I would be using a net connection in the office building itself, not some "free wifi" offered by the building owners, but call me paranoid.
    Agreed, As long as it for sure is WPA2 you are safe from randoms I would also make sure no services are running (ssh, etc) or if they are you have good passwords.