Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: "hypothetically" would it be possible

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Beans
    731
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    "hypothetically" would it be possible

    Would it be possible to run an extra CPU through USB? Is USB fast enough to handle CPU speeds?
    Which is more important in obtaining the truth, "what" or "why"? Trick question. They are of equal importance.
    Freely ye have received, freely give.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    92
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    I don't think this is possible. A CPU is connected directly to the motherboard. The speed would suffer extremely, especially if you use USB 1 or 2. And I don't think USB 3 would be any different, it's faster but not fast enough.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Beans
    731
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    Quote Originally Posted by pompel9 View Post
    I don't think this is possible. A CPU is connected directly to the motherboard. The speed would suffer extremely, especially if you use USB 1 or 2. And I don't think USB 3 would be any different, it's faster but not fast enough.
    Thanks I'm looking for a way to speed up blender cycles. Unfortunately it takes 2/3 hours just to render one frame with it and I'm very frustrated that I can't find other options.
    Which is more important in obtaining the truth, "what" or "why"? Trick question. They are of equal importance.
    Freely ye have received, freely give.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Beans
    766
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    what you talking about is called clustering

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    6,027

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    If you have multiple computers blender can distribute the rendering across them if they are on the same LAN.

    You can even distribute rendering to computers on the internet similar to how seti@home, folding@home, bitcoin etc works.

    Just google 'distributed blender'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Beans
    731
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    Quote Originally Posted by mips View Post
    If you have multiple computers blender can distribute the rendering across them if they are on the same LAN.

    You can even distribute rendering to computers on the internet similar to how seti@home, folding@home, bitcoin etc works.

    Just google 'distributed blender'
    That's the problem. I don't have any extra computers. I got the one I'm currently using especially for Blender with 8 gigs of RAM and silly me didn't think, hey. . . how exactly do computers calculate things? Anyways, so, I got the i5 instead of the i7. I have quad cores but it's just taking LONG periods of time and my fan is running the entirety of said time all this time and power is wasted on one frame. I've looked into blenderfarm but they don't do stills.

    Maybe I should ask my faries for some magic LOL?

    [IMG]https://dl.dropbox.com/u/23080006/FF.jpg

    It took me 3 hours to make them and I still need to place some elements in the photo. I'm thinking fire, water, earth, air, and heart
    Last edited by overdrank; September 19th, 2012 at 11:12 AM. Reason: please use thumbnails
    Which is more important in obtaining the truth, "what" or "why"? Trick question. They are of equal importance.
    Freely ye have received, freely give.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    6,027

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    Quote Originally Posted by ki4jgt View Post
    That's the problem. I don't have any extra computers.
    Well then try using the distributed internet computers.

    http://burp.renderfarming.net/
    http://www.renderfarm.fi/
    http://www.blendernet.com/services



    .
    Last edited by mips; September 19th, 2012 at 11:39 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    1,933
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    If you can't create a LAN or internet based render farm, you're just going to have to be patient. You need to realize that rendering complex 3D takes a very long time. It's a lot different than rendering a quick and dirty, low poly scene for a game. There is a lot more involved. Even if you had the i7, it would still take forever.
    Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You. - Dr. Seuss

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    If you've got an i5 2500k or the like, you can probably OC it by a heavy margin, with little effort; mine runs at 4.7.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Beans
    766
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: "hypothetically" would it be possible

    You could also create a super computer using rasberry pi's

    http://arstechnica.com/information-t...-pi-and-legos/

    this has an advantage of just starting out with a couple of them and expanding as you can get more....

    this would be a way to add in a lot of computing power over time

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •