Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is it ok to stop compiz from running on a server?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Duluth, GA
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Is it ok to stop compiz from running on a server?

    Hello,

    I have a box with Ubuntu 12.04 LTS that originally was used as a desktop PC but now it is a server. compiz is taking up a lot of CPU resources. Is it ok to stop compiz? Would doing so cause problems on the server?

    The server is offsite and I'm using SSH to get to it. I could stop it in htop if needed.

    (Posted in General because, although this is a server, it was originally configured as a desktop and is still used as a desktop on rare occasions)
    Last edited by clay7; September 19th, 2012 at 03:08 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    1,799
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Is it ok to stop compiz from running on a server?

    Compiz is used by your Desktop Environment and Window Manager. If you're using the machine as a headless server, you shouldn't need any of that.
    Jane, stop this crazy thing!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Washington DC
    Beans
    2,186
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Is it ok to stop compiz from running on a server?

    turning off compiz, won't cause problems if you don't need the gui

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Duluth, GA
    Beans
    126
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Is it ok to stop compiz from running on a server?

    I tried to kill it in htop, but it sprang back to life. But, kill -9 xxxx did it. Everything else seems to be running fine.

    Just wanted to be sure before I caused a potential interuption in service. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Beans
    2,098
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Is it ok to stop compiz from running on a server?

    You can modify the grub configuration so it boots to a console instead of a graphical environment.

    Taken from another post:
    Quote Originally Posted by f8l_0e View Post
    Ok, try this. Edit /etc/default/grub
    change the line

    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"

    to

    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text"

    then run sudo update-grub2
    I've added the word 'text' (red italic)
    If you don't make backups of your important data, your data is obviously not important to you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,505
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Is it ok to stop compiz from running on a server?

    Quote Originally Posted by clay7 View Post
    I tried to kill it in htop, but it sprang back to life. But, kill -9 xxxx did it. Everything else seems to be running fine.

    Just wanted to be sure before I caused a potential interuption in service. Thanks!
    Uninstall all the useless Compiz packages.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •