Page 51 of 83 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361 ... LastLast
Results 501 to 510 of 828

Thread: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

  1. #501
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    1,081

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Quote Originally Posted by Cryptic1911 View Post
    Hi, just wondering if anyone here has tried getting core temps from a quad core cpu yet.. I have conky all setup and working great except for the temps that i'm after. My problem is that I can't figure out what to put in conky for it to display the cpu core temps.
    Here's what I'm using:
    Code:
    $alignc${color red} CPU Temps(C): $color ${execi 6 /usr/bin/sensors | grep Core | paste -s | cut -c15-16,19-20,71-72}
    You'll need to play around with the parameters (replacing 'Core' for 'temp' would the the first thing, and then the cut parameters. I prefer piping through pasts to get everything on one line, but that's a preference thing.
    Please refer to the manual pages for cut, paste, and grep if necessary.
    Cheers,

  2. #502
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Beans
    135

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    I don't know if this is what your looking for or not, but try adding the following to your .conkyrc file for your interface to the internet.

    Code:
    Down: $color${downspeed eth0} k/s ${alignr}Up: ${upspeed eth0} k/s
    ${downspeedgraph eth0 25,140 000000 ff0000} ${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth0 25,140 000000 00ff00}$color
    Total: ${totaldown eth0} ${alignr}Total: ${totalup eth0}
    GigaByte GA-X48-DQ6, QX9650, 8GB CORSAIR Dominator
    3Ware 9690SA HW RAID, BFG NVidia 8800GTS 640MB - Lite-on 20x DVD-RW

  3. #503
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    67

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Thanx!

  4. #504
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Beans
    78
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    I am having trouble getting the output of a log file to wrap long lines in conky. It appears that the fold command doesn't work when you tail log files, is that correct? How can I get long lines to wrap instead of simply disappearing when they run out of room? Here is the relevant line:

    Code:
    ${tail /var/log/messages 3 | fold -w35}

  5. #505
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    67

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    thnx

  6. #506
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    hey guys, how do i fix my battery status?

    the status is currently located at /proc/acpi/battery/C16D
    but if i use ${battery_time} it doesn't display the info

  7. #507
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    I have been playing with various settings and I have finally gotten one that I like however now it would seem that the "space" taken up by what would be the window is roughly double what it should be. Does anyone know how to "push" the box further to the right?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #508
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Question Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Just a quick one here, I've dabbled with Conky before but could never get quite the right initial setup. I have now used the one from this guide and it provides all the details I need and I will tweak these so I'd like to say a big thank you for an excellent howto!

    Now onto my question! I have installed the latest .deb from sourceforge (0.46.1 i think!) and it runs great, I have added conky to the startup items under Sessions and it does seem to load as Gnome is coming up but once my wallpaper is applied it seems to disappear! I can then launch it from a terminal or the Alt+F2 and it shows up fine!

    I'm not using any 3D effects or anything like Compiz/Beryl etc. as this is on an old Tecra laptop! Would creating a script like the one shown for the 3D windows managers to avoid the shadows being drawn help at all by delaying it's launch until the wallpaper is displayed?
    I use Ubuntu because I choose to.
    I use Windows when I have to
    Registered Linux User# 452439 Registered Ubuntu User# 16893

  9. #509
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Beans
    33

    Question Can conky be visible all the time?

    Hi,
    Is it possible to have conky visible all the time?
    The problem is, when you maximize a window, conky is covered up. How to keep it visible like a panel in Gnome, Kde for example or at least as a docking option in gkrellm?
    There's a hack for this using this file: space_dapp.c but it's for flubox.
    I have been playing with various settings, but with no result.

    Any ideas

    This is my conkyrc by the way:
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #510
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,552
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Can someone post a snippet from their conkyrc file to show me how to used a fixed font? Although this is a can of worms how do I find a list of fixed fonts to use -- Im looking for a nice one!!

Page 51 of 83 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •