Page 3 of 83 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 828

Thread: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    712

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    this worked great for me but it is still flickering for me. how do i double buffer via command line? also i have it at the bottom left of the screen how do i move it to the top right?
    and what way to change the visual style of it?

    thanks in advance.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    712

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    and now after i rebooted again it doesnt show up at all.....what can i do? even sudo conky doesny work in terminal

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Beans
    177
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Quote Originally Posted by ciscosurfer
    I've followed the instructions...what am I missing? I keep getting this error:
    Code:
    magic@frisky:~/conky-1.4.2$ ./configure --prefix=/usr --mandir=/usr/share/man --infodir=/usr/share/info --datadir=/usr/share --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var/lib --enable-xft --enable-seti --enable-double-buffer --enable-own-window --enable-proc-uptime --enable-mpd --enable-mldonkey --enable-x11 --enable-portmon --enable-infopipe
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking for gawk... gawk
    checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... no
    checking build system type... Invalid configuration `i686-pc-linux-oldld': machine `i686-pc-linux' not recognized
    configure: error: /bin/sh ./config.sub i686-pc-linux-oldld failed
    Any thoughts anyone?

    Also, can someone please give me a run-down on <sudo checkinstall> vs <sudo make install>. Thanx!
    I get exactly the same thing. Was it ever resolved? What do I do?

    EDIT: I decided to download the .deb file instead. Once I downloaded it, I opened up the file browser and navigated my way to it. Then I right-clicked on it and selected "Open with GDebi Package Installer". That did the trick. Then I just followed seldon77's post from where I left it, ie. I restarted again at point 4. Et voila! It's excellent. Thanks for all the work seldon77!
    Last edited by n00b@linux; July 3rd, 2006 at 09:54 PM.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    2,310
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Talking Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Realizing that I didn't have the proper compiler installed to build from source, I went ahead and installed 'build-essential' via apt-get (you can use aptitude as well, or the more friendly GUIs, Synaptic or Adept):
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install build-essential
    This will grab and install the necessary files for you: the GNU C compiler (gcc), make, g++, and a bevy of other progs you will need to compile from source. Hope this helps others.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    48

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Quote Originally Posted by kpkeerthi
    It worked great... but it could not load the font 'arial'...
    Code:
    Conky: can't load font 'arial'
    I have mstcorefonts but it won't load. I tried replacing the font with system default (Sans) and still won't work. I also tried the -f option and no luck too... Would highly appreciate your help.
    yeah. it's to do with the compile options in making conky.

    for some reason, compiling with xbe doesn't work wel, and thus the error.

    you could try downloading the .deb file I mention on page 1 (?), instead of compiling by hand.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    4

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Quote Originally Posted by maddbaron View Post
    and now after i rebooted again it doesnt show up at all.....what can i do? even sudo conky doesny work in terminal
    i've got the same prob. i work with openbox and xgl, can that be a problem?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Beans
    163
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    It works!
    Thanks for the how-to =D>

    Screenshot:


    But as you can see, there are still some errors in the output...
    This is my .conkyrc file:

    Code:
    # UBUNTU-CONKY
    # A comprehensive conky script, configured for use on
    # Ubuntu / Debian Gnome, without the need for any external scripts.
    #
    # Based on conky-jc and the default .conkyrc.
    # INCLUDES:
    # - tail of /var/log/messages 
    # - netstat connections to your computer
    #
    # -- Pengo (conky@pengo.us)
    #
    
    # Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
    own_window yes
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,skip_taskbar
    background yes
    
    # Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
    double_buffer yes
    
    # fiddle with window
    use_spacer yes
    use_xft no
    
    # Update interval in seconds
    update_interval 3.0
    
    # Minimum size of text area
    minimum_size 400 5
    
    # Draw shades?
    draw_shades no
    
    # Text stuff
    draw_outline yes # amplifies text if yes
    draw_borders no
    font arial
    uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
    
    # Stippled borders?
    stippled_borders 3
    
    # border margins
    border_margin 9
    
    # border width
    border_width 10
    
    # Default colors and also border colors, grey90 == #e5e5e5
    default_color grey
    
    own_window_colour brown
    own_window_transparent yes
    
    # Text alignment, other possible values are commented
    #alignment top_left
    alignment top_right
    #alignment bottom_left
    #alignment bottom_right
    
    # Gap between borders of screen and text
    gap_x 10
    gap_y 10
    
    # stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen
    
    TEXT
    $nodename $sysname $kernel on $machine
    $color$stippled_hr
    CPU: ${freq}MHz   Load: ${loadavg}   Temp: ${execi 30 sensors |grep "CPU" |cut -d " " -f6}
    $cpubar
    ${cpugraph}$color
    
    NAME             PID       CPU%      MEM%
    ${top name 1} ${top pid 1}   ${top cpu 1}    ${top mem 1}
    ${top name 2} ${top pid 2}   ${top cpu 2}    ${top mem 2}
    ${top name 3} ${top pid 3}   ${top cpu 3}    ${top mem 3}
    ${top name 4} ${top pid 4}   ${top cpu 4}    ${top mem 4}
    $color$stippled_hr
    RAM:        $memperc%       ${membar 6}$color
    Swap:       $swapperc%       ${swapbar 6}$color
    
    Root:       ${fs_free_perc /}%        ${fs_bar 6 /}$color 
    Winblows:   ${fs_free_perc /media/windows}%         ${fs_bar 6 /media/windows}$color 
    WD:         ${fs_free_perc /media/wd}%         ${fs_bar 6 /media/wd}$color
    Server:     ${fs_free_perc /media/server}%        ${fs_bar 6 /media/server}$color
    $color$stippled_hr
    IP: ${addr eth0} Total: ${totaldown eth0} Down ${totalup eth0} Up
    
    Down: ${downspeed eth0} k/s ${offset 110}Up: ${upspeed eth0} k/s
    ${downspeedgraph eth0 32,200} ${upspeedgraph eth0 32,200}
    
    ${execi 12 netstat -e -p -t | grep ESTABLISHED | cut -c45-68,80-86,102-140}
    $color$stippled_hr
    SYSTEM LOG TAIL
    ${execi 30 tail -n3 /var/log/messages | fold -w67}
    $color$stippled_hr
    Xmms: ${execi 5 cat /tmp/xmms-info | grep Status: | cut -d ":" -f2}
    Artist: ${execi 5 cat /tmp/xmms-info |grep Title: | cut -d "-" -f1}
    Title :${execi 5 cat /tmp/xmms-info |grep Title: | cut -d "-" -f2}
    Time : ${execi 5  cat /tmp/xmms-info |grep -w Position | cut -d " " -f2} (${execi 5 cat /tmp/xmms-info |grep -w Time |cut -d " " -f2})
    List  : ${execi 5 cat /tmp/xmms-info |grep Currently |cut -d ":" -f2} /${execi 5 cat /tmp/xmms-info | grep Tunes | cut -d ":" -f2}
    ${execi 10 /home/johan/xmmsbar.sh}
    $color$stippled_hr
    ${execi 300 fortune -s | fold -w67}
    I used the .conkyrc file from the first post, and modified it a little
    I changed the temperature output from acpitemp to sensors, because acpitemp always shows 40 degrees, not the actual temperature. There is only a small problem in the conky output.

    The real problem is the XMMS output... see the next screenshot:


    Sometimes, the XMMS information appears multiple times. I use xmms-infopipe to create the data.

    Who can help me fix these small problems?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    48

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Quote Originally Posted by honeysucker View Post
    i've got the same prob. i work with openbox and xgl, can that be a problem?
    could be. gnome users dont seem to have a problem.

    just ensure that 'conky' is run by default when the window manager starts up.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    131

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Following your How-to i finally removed the "flickering effect" i had previously with conky.
    Your config is really good tho.
    Only thing: How can i modify the length of the CPU and up/down bars?

    Edit: i ve been able to make smaller "version":
    Code:
    TEXT
    $color$stippled_hr
    $nodename 
    $sysname $kernel on $machine
    
    CPU: ${freq}MHz     Temp: ${acpitemp}
    ${cpubar 16,180}
    $color$stippled_hr
    NAME            CPU%      MEM%
    
    ${top name 1}${top cpu 1}    ${top mem 1}
    ${top name 2}${top cpu 2}    ${top mem 2}
    ${top name 3}${top cpu 3}    ${top mem 3}
    ${top name 4}${top cpu 4}    ${top mem 4}
    $color$stippled_hr
    RAM:   $memperc%  ${membar 4,100}$color
    Swap:  $swapperc%  ${swapbar 4,100}$color
    
    Root:  ${fs_free_perc /}%   ${fs_bar 4,100 /}$color 
    hda1:  ${fs_free_perc /media/hda1}%   ${fs_bar 4,100 /media/hda1}$color 
    $color$stippled_hr
    Total: ${totaldown eth0} Down ${totalup eth0} Up
    
    Down: $color${downspeed eth0}     Up: ${upspeed eth0}
    ${downspeedgraph eth0 16,87.5} ${upspeedgraph eth0 16,87.5}
    $color$stippled_hr
    By the way, how to had color into conky ? I tried $color (color) command but it doesnt seem to work ( iwanted to color "Down" in green: i added $color green in front of "Down", but it just displayed "green Down" )

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Howto: Get a beautiful Conky 1.4.2 setup

    Hello,

    It working fine here on my Xubuntu system (I'm using xfce4) but conky appears only in one desktop. How can I configure to be able to see it on my 4 desktops?
    Thanks

Page 3 of 83 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •