Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Limited resolutions with Sandybridge graphics

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    53

    Re: Limited resolutions with Sandybridge graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by Wim Sturkenboom View Post
    Your mode is not called 1920x1080, it's called 1920x1080_60 as I already indicated in my earlier post. So try to use that.

    Code:
    xrandr --addmode default 1920x1080_60
    Thanks for your response. I had tried 1920x1080_60 and it failed, but in looking over the terminal output, I realized the true name was 1920x1080_60.00. I had to go through the mode adding process (for some reason, the modes I had added in a previous session were now gone, as were 3 of the four previously-existing VESA modes.) This time, the addmode worked. However, when I tried to select that mode from the drop-down list in the Displays GUI, I got an error notice that the chosen mode exceeded the allowable resolution, which was Minimum 1280x1024, Maximum 1280x1024.

    You can see this range limitation in the xrandr output buried in this terminal listing:
    Code:
    mary@mary-Inspiron-One-2320:~$ xrandr
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    Screen 0: minimum 1280 x 1024, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
    default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1280x1024      77.0* 
    mary@mary-Inspiron-One-2320:~$ xrandr
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    Screen 0: minimum 1280 x 1024, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
    default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1280x1024      77.0* 
    mary@mary-Inspiron-One-2320:~$ cvt 1920 1080 60
    # 1920x1080 59.96 Hz (CVT 2.07M9) hsync: 67.16 kHz; pclk: 173.00 MHz
    Modeline "1920x1080_60.00"  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
    mary@mary-Inspiron-One-2320:~$ xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00"  173.00  1920 2048 2248 2576  1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    mary@mary-Inspiron-One-2320:~$ xrandr
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    Screen 0: minimum 1280 x 1024, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
    default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1280x1024      77.0* 
      1920x1080_60.00 (0x14d)  173.0MHz
            h: width  1920 start 2048 end 2248 total 2576 skew    0 clock   67.2KHz
            v: height 1080 start 1083 end 1088 total 1120           clock   60.0Hz
    mary@mary-Inspiron-One-2320:~$ xrandr --addmode default 1920x1080_60.00
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    mary@mary-Inspiron-One-2320:~$
    So now the question is, how to change these minimum/maximum limits?
    Last edited by robertj20112; September 16th, 2012 at 09:34 PM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denver,Colorado
    Beans
    243
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Limited resolutions with Sandybridge graphics

    You should amend "video=1280x1024-24@75" to Grub (the Linux Boot line)

    obviously change 1280x1024 with your native resolution KMS Auto detection is failing when it boots because you either have a rare EDID or it's giving it the wrong EDID.
    + Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon 64bit +
    Lubuntu 12.04 PPC 32bit G4 | Ubuntu 12.04 PPC 64bit G5

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    53

    Re: Limited resolutions with Sandybridge graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by Epodx64 View Post
    You should amend "video=1280x1024-24@75" to Grub (the Linux Boot line)

    obviously change 1280x1024 with your native resolution KMS Auto detection is failing when it boots because you either have a rare EDID or it's giving it the wrong EDID.
    Thanks so much for your response, Epodx64.

    Here is what the line now says (after ro)

    Code:
     ....... quiet splash nomodeset video=1920x1080-24@60 $vt_handoff
    Is this the right syntax?

    After booting, xrandr still shows maximum resolution 1280 x 1024, and 1920x1080 is not in the list of selectable resolutions in Displays GUI
    . (Display native resolution in Win7 is 1920x1080)
    Last edited by robertj20112; September 17th, 2012 at 09:06 PM.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Denver,Colorado
    Beans
    243
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Limited resolutions with Sandybridge graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by robertj20112 View Post
    Thanks so much for your response, Epodx64.

    Here is what the line now says (after ro)

    Code:
     ....... quiet splash nomodeset video=1920x1080-24@60 $vt_handoff
    Is this the right syntax?

    After booting, xrandr still shows maximum resolution 1280 x 1024, and 1920x1080 is not in the list of selectable resolutions in Displays GUI
    . (Display native resolution in Win7 is 1920x1080)
    get rid of the nomodeset thats probably forcing vesa to load and the intel graphics driver works fine
    + Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon 64bit +
    Lubuntu 12.04 PPC 32bit G4 | Ubuntu 12.04 PPC 64bit G5

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    53

    Unhappy Re: Limited resolutions with Sandybridge graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by Epodx64 View Post
    get rid of the nomodeset thats probably forcing vesa to load and the intel graphics driver works fine
    Thanks for your suggestion, Epodx64. I have now tried it. When I removed nomodeset, the result was a blank (i.e., dark) screen for both the login screen and (once I typed the password blindly) the desktop. There must be a way to get the intel graphics driver working, but I haven't found it. FYI, while I got 10.04LTS to load on this hardware and the display to work without nomodeset, only the same reduced-resolution set of display parameters was available as in 12.04LTS with nomodeset. Then, when I tried to upgrade to 12.04 (rather than a direct installation of 12.04), the graphics continued working throughout the upgrade until the reboot after installation of changes. Then I got the blank/dark screen again. Right now, I am working with a fresh, direct installation of 12.04 again, and that is what I tested your suggestion against.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    53

    Smile Re: Limited resolutions with Sandybridge graphics

    Problem has been solved in the 3.5 kernel of 12.10. All resolutions are available, no need to use nomodeset in the boot. Unfortunately, I cannot benefit from the Long Term Support of 12.04 but must install each successive new version. Oh, well, maybe the next LTS will work properly out-of-the-(electronic)box! Thanks to all who tried to help.
    Last edited by robertj20112; October 23rd, 2012 at 10:47 AM. Reason: correct typo

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •