Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    402

    Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

    This is the oddest thing I've ever seen. When I take a screenshot of a window or my desktop, I instead receive an older copy of the window or screenshot. What I mean, is that once I take a screenshot using gnome screenshot tool, I will forever get that screenshot when I try and take another. I'm running with the open drivers, under and amd/ati card. This happens using shutter, pressing 'printscreen', or using gnome screenshot tool.

    If I use the import command (from imagemagick) on the command line, I get the proper screenshot. I'll try and post a video so you can see what I mean.

    Has anyone come across this bizarre issue?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    1,907
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

    Seems to work good here. Here is a copy of your post from a pic.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    UsingTheTerminal

    Smile today, cry tomorrow!
    ( Read this everyday )

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    402

    Re: Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

    Quote Originally Posted by guitara View Post
    This is the oddest thing I've ever seen. When I take a screenshot of a window or my desktop, I instead receive an older copy of the window or screenshot. What I mean, is that once I take a screenshot using gnome screenshot tool, I will forever get that screenshot when I try and take another. I'm running with the open drivers, under and amd/ati card. This happens using shutter, pressing 'printscreen', or using gnome screenshot tool.

    If I use the import command (from imagemagick) on the command line, I get the proper screenshot (well kind of, it's missing borders, and sometimes has old window artifacts). I'll try and post a video so you can see what I mean.

    Has anyone come across this bizarre issue?
    WOW! So more details emerge! This happens after running a wine program. Whatever my last screenshot was is forever ingrained. I took a video demonstrating everything, and guess what? It's 2 mins of the screenshot image -- no motion captured.. No video at all.

    It *seems* like the xwindow buffer gets stuck and anything that images against it only gets that snapshot in time. I'm really at a loss.

    Try running something in wine, then using your screenshot tools. Be sure to take a screenshot before running the wine program!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

    All is well here running:

    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV350 AQ [Radeon 9600]
    01:00.1 Display controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV350 AQ [Radeon 9600] (Secondary)
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    1,907
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

    I do not run wine and it's not installed so I really can't test that function at this time.
    UsingTheTerminal

    Smile today, cry tomorrow!
    ( Read this everyday )

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

    I installed wine, ran a program and still cannot emulate that bug.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Taking a screenshot generates an old screen

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    I installed wine, ran a program and still cannot emulate that bug.
    So did I.
    Forum Social IRC Channel
    Xubuntu IRC Support
    Xubuntu Support

    Please do not PM me about Registration issues without having been asked to. I will tell you to post here

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •