Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4

    Angry How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

    I dont have windows 7 in my grub bootloader..and i selected UBUNTU as my default OS.Now i cant boot Windows 7.
    Pls tell me how to add windows 7 in grub menu.
    I also tried to changing the 40_custom file but it is read only so i cant change.
    Help I am using UBUNTU 12.04 LTS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Beans
    119
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

    Try using yannbuntu (boot-repair) via a live CD/USB to reinstall the GRUB, and fix any errors
    Last edited by Jakin; September 8th, 2012 at 07:59 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

    Quote Originally Posted by Jakin View Post
    Try using yannbuntu (boot-repair) via a live CD/USB to reinstall the GRUB, and any errors
    i dont have any CD/DVD of UBUNTU!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

    Quote Originally Posted by Dhiraj1 View Post
    I dont have windows 7 in my grub bootloader..and i selected UBUNTU as my default OS.Now i cant boot Windows 7.
    Pls tell me how to add windows 7 in grub menu.
    I also tried to changing the 40_custom file but it is read only so i cant change.
    Help I am using UBUNTU 12.04 LTS
    Hi,

    First of all , open a terminal (ctrl+alt+t combo keys) and do this
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    Then you can install a package that will allow you to modify your grub-bootloader . Its easy to use.

    Open a terminal (ctrl+alt+t combo keys) and apply bellow commands

    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danielrichter2007/grub-customizer
    sudo apt-get update 
    sudo apt-get install grub-customizer
    Open grub-customizer and change your settings according to your preferences.

    And here is a great how-to for grub-customizer : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1664134 , to take advantage all of the features.

    Thanks
    Last edited by NikTh; September 8th, 2012 at 07:53 AM. Reason: How-to added
    # How to mark the Thread as [SOLVED] when done.
    # Ubuntu Greek Community
    # Gain 20GB of space on copy.com when sign up with my referral link.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

    Hey Nikth Bro,
    When i try to install grub customizer ,it says package not available,!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

    Quote Originally Posted by Dhiraj1 View Post
    Hey Nikth Bro,
    When i try to install grub customizer ,it says package not available,!!!
    Hey ,

    did you copy-paste the commands from here to your terminal ?

    Please give the results of

    Code:
    sudo udpate-grub
    Thanks
    # How to mark the Thread as [SOLVED] when done.
    # Ubuntu Greek Community
    # Gain 20GB of space on copy.com when sign up with my referral link.

  7. #7
    anewguy is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sometimes I visit earth
    Beans
    5,441
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to add Windows 7 in GRUB bootloader

    +1. update-grub should pick up any OS's on the disk and they should then be available in the boot menu. I do have one question, thought:

    Does:
    i selected UBUNTU as my default OS
    mean that in the installation you told it to use the entire disk for ubuntu, not dual install for dual boot? If so, then you probably don't have a partition with Windows installed on it now. Boot up ubuntu, go to disk utility, and see what partitions are defined. Do a screen print of this and attach it back in a reply here. Don't do anything is in disk utility - just display, print screen and exit.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •