View Poll Results: Are you a programmer?

Voters
252. You may not vote on this poll
  • I code for a living (and possibly for fun too)

67 26.59%
  • I code for fun only

50 19.84%
  • I'm proficient in a little coding

46 18.25%
  • I got trained in some kind of coding at some point, but I don't code

34 13.49%
  • I don't code

48 19.05%
  • Other (please explain)

7 2.78%
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Are you a programmer or not?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Are you a programmer or not?

There's another thread out there asking how many people actually code, but it appears to be answered only by people who actually do code.

I'm just curious, though, about how many people code and how many people don't code.

Edit: By the way, I answered "I got trained in some kind of coding at some point, but I don't code." My senior year in high school, I took an AP Computer Science course that was in... Pascal, I think? We did stuff like putting values into an array and them pulling them out with While loops.

I've long forgotten how to do anything like that, and I don't even know if that language is viable any more. People seem to use Python, C++, and Java or whatnot.

Every now and then I get the urge to look at a programming for beginners book, but the "hello world" thing really turns me off.
    Last edited by aysiu; June 28th, 2006 at 06:45 AM.

rai4shu2 is offline Extra Foam Sugar Free Ubuntu
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Are you a programmer or not?

I can code, but I mostly do consulting nowadays.

Beans

I can't code!!!

let's see, my coding skills max out at...the "hello world" online tutorials...
    Last edited by ubuntuman001; September 17th, 2006 at 05:20 AM.
    acer e5-571-5552 | core i5-4210u | intel hd graphics 4400 | 8gb ram | 128gb ssd

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06