Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    935

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    Below are the menu entries for a grub.cfg that should work with the mini.iso (although I haven't tested). Just download the correct version of the mini.iso (32 or 64) from here http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/netboot/precise/ and use the ofboot.b and grub.img files from post #1.

    Code:
    menuentry "Install" {
      set root=(grubdevice,1)
      set isofile="/mini.iso"
      loopback loop $isofile 
      linux (loop)/vmlinux root=/dev/ram ro --
      initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
    }
       
    menuentry "Expert" {
      set root=(grubdevice,1)
      set isofile="/mini.iso"
      loopback loop $isofile 
      linux (loop)/vmlinux root=/dev/ram priority=low ro --
      initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
    }
       
    menuentry "Cli" {
      set root=(grubdevice,1)
      set isofile="/mini.iso"
      loopback loop $isofile 
      linux (loop)/vmlinux root=/dev/ram tasks=standard pkgsel/language-pack-patterns= pkgsel/install-language-support=false ro --
      initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
    }
    
    menuentry "Cli-expert" {
      set root=(grubdevice,1)
      set isofile="/mini.iso"
      loopback loop $isofile 
      linux (loop)/vmlinux root=/dev/ram tasks=standard pkgsel/language-pack-patterns= pkgsel/install-language-support=false priority=low ro --
      initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
    }
     
    menuentry "Rescue" {
      set root=(grubdevice,1)
      set isofile="/mini.iso"
      loopback loop $isofile 
      linux (loop)/vmlinux root=/dev/ram rescue/enable=true ro --
      initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
    }

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    935

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    You don't have to create a new grub.cfg file. Once grub has booted just drop to a command line (you may have to press 'c'), then type what is in the menuentry you want. For example, for the 'install' option just type:

    Code:
    set root=(grubdevice,1)
    set isofile="/mini.iso"
    loopback loop $isofile 
    linux (loop)/vmlinux root=/dev/ram ro --
    initrd (loop)/initrd.gz
    To make it boot, type:

    Code:
    boot
    If you've just downloaded the vmlinux and initrd.gz files (as explained in post #2) then you would type:

    Code:
    set root=(grubdevice,1)
    linux /vmlinux root=/dev/ram ro --
    initrd /initrd.gz
    boot
    Again, make sure you are using the correct version - powerpc for G3/G4 and powerpc64 for G5 - http://ports.ubuntu.com/dists/precis...urrent/images/

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    935

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    One final thing, that I don't think I've yet said on this thread, is that grub on PowerPC doesn't like the arrow keys being held down. Single presses only!!

    If you use grub2 on an installed system then it looks a lot better than the basic interface I've used in the grub.img.

    If you are using a kubuntu/lubuntu alternate ISO with the hd-media vmlinux/initrd.gz files then you may need to ammend the 'Install' option commands to something like this:

    Code:
    set root=(grubdevice,1) 
    linux /vmlinux root=/dev/ram file=/cdrom/preseed/kubuntu.seed FRONTEND_BACKGROUND=original quiet ro -- 
    initrd /initrd.gz
    boot
    I haven't used the alternate ISOs from lubuntu/kubuntu in this way so this is just speculation!
    Last edited by rsavage; October 29th, 2012 at 01:05 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    935

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    Please ignore post #11!!!! (For some reason I can't edit it)

    I wrote it without actually looking at the mini.iso contents - and they are a lot different to what I thought!

    Here is what the first menuentry should be:

    Code:
    menuentry "Install" {   
       set root=(grubdevice,1)   
       set isofile="/mini.iso" 
       loopback loop $isofile    
       linux (loop)/install/netboot-linux root=/dev/ram ro -- 
       initrd (loop)/install/netboot-initrd.gz 
    }
    Note there is no vmlinux file, but it is called /install/netboot-linux instead. Similarly initrd.gz needs renaming in post #11.
    Last edited by rsavage; November 9th, 2012 at 09:22 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    Hey guys I'm new to the ubuntu thing but I got it working off my usb drive on a powerbook G4 using grub's files and a version of 10.04 desktop powerpc. I couldn't get my G4 to boot off of a disk so I went to the USB drive. Now when I go to install it on my pc it wants to put the image back on my jump drive, and I can't see my hard drive or my CD drive. Should I be able to at this point??? I got this G4 as a leftover from work so I cant say for certain if the HD is even good but I do here it crunching a bit on startup.
    How do I get Ubuntu onto my pc's hard drive and not back on my jump drive.
    Thanks

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    hi rsavage, first of all ty for you efforts. I've been trying to get ubuntu 12.04 running on my old Powerbook G4 for some time now. Lately i had Kubuntu 11.10 installed but when i upgraded to 12.04 it stopped working. Since i want Xubuntu anyways I am now trying to re-install the new version. I've downloaded the mini.iso and you grub files. I have no problem booting into grub. It all works fine. But it instantly drops me into the grub console. No nice menu. I actually have no idea how to proceed. I have modified the grub.cfg as u described in #12. But still only the console. Could you walk me through my next steps? I have also tried yaboot but i cant even load yaboot correctly and i also like grub2 way better sincerely FRED

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    935

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    You need to follow the advice in post 14. I got the location of the files wrong in 11 and 12. Stupidly I wrote the posts without looking at the iso and haven't got the ability to edit posts in this thread for some reason.

    I haven't made menu entries for the mini/alternate iso's so you would need to type out the instructions.

    Once at a grub console the commands would be

    Code:
    set root=(grubdevice,1)       
    set isofile="/mini.iso"     
    loopback loop $isofile        
    linux (loop)/install/netboot-linux root=/dev/ram ro --     
    initrd (loop)/install/netboot-initrd.gz 
    boot

    The only problem would be the partitioning of your usb device. Sometimes I've had to use just

    Code:
    set root=(grubdevice)
    If you type

    Code:
    ls
    Then you'll get a list of your partitions.

    If you want the menu then use something like this (can't remeber exactly, ammend for your partition)

    Code:
    configfile (grubdevice)/grub.cfg
    Last edited by rsavage; March 11th, 2013 at 06:15 PM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: How To: Boot PowerPC live/desktop ISOs via grub2

    this worked like charm! Installing right now. Ty again for your efforts. I'll let you know if it worked. // edit: i used root=(grubdevice) instead of root=(grubdevice,1)
    Last edited by ferdynator; March 13th, 2013 at 01:47 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •