Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Just got hacked?

Beans

Just got hacked?

Hi everyone,
    I am using Ubuntu 12.04. I work as an online app developer for google via odesk. Yesterday, I was working as usual. I was using Google Chrome; I was also listening to music on audacious, my ntfs drive 'songs' was mounted and home folder was opened and finally the Odesk team app was running.
    I am using MTS MBLAZE 3.1 MBPS wireless broadband. I just left the computer for about an hour, paused my work and went for breakfast. All the applications I mentioned above were running and internet was connected.
    When I came back the computer was on stand by (that's normal) but VLC, Firefox, Ubuntu help was opened and all of my drives were mounted and on stand by net got disconnected. No one at my home touched my pc. I was beyond shocked. From that monent on, I rebooted my pc and started win 7. I just didn't feel secure.
    Any ideas on what happened and what should I do?
    Regards,
    Arindom Das

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Just got hacked

Your cat or dog danced on your keyboard/mouse

Beans

I'm security conscious, so when I'm not literally in front of my PC, I make sure to disconnect from the net, unless I'm transferring files or something. It's a bit tedious, but so far, it has worked.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Do you have the built in firewall on? I usually make sure it is turned on after I boot (the GUI interface package is gufw). The only incoming connections I allow are Skype and the scanner I have on my printer.
    Also, did you have any remote desktop connection software open? That is one way to get into a computer when nobody is around.
    Backups are amazing. 99% of data loss can be prevented by spending less than $100 on an external drive.
    If you have seen an error, there is a good chance someone else has, too. Google is your friend.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin