Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: cant get domain to point to server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    5

    Question cant get domain to point to server

    I have ohiotech.net pointing to the NS my VPS host provided.

    ns1-ns4

    I have ubuntu 12.04 x64 with ISPconfig Mysql and Apache2 on the VPS

    ISPconfig's dns is set up like this:

    Code:
    	A	mail	64.111.29.240	0	
    A	ohiotech.net	64.111.29.240	0	
    A	www	64.111.29.240	0	
    MX	mail.ohiotech.net	mail.64.111.29.240	10	
    NS	ns1.ohiotech.net	ns1.64.111.29.240	0	
    NS	ns2.ohiotech.net	ns2.64.111.29.240	0	
       Page 1 of 1
    I'm not exactly positive what other information to post..

    when going to ohiotech.net i get nothing or my old host depending on how i type it in.

    going to the ip works perfectly.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    11,294
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    If you have configured your domain name to use your provider's nameservers, then you need to do the configuration on your provider's name servers. If you want to use your own nameserver, then you need to configure your domain to use it.
    「明後日の夕方には帰ってるからね。」


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Storybrooke
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    +1 to what Bachstelze said, also

    Your current nameservers,
    ns1.frontrangehosting.com [204.45.250.249]
    ns3.frontrangehosting.com [50.116.61.110]

    are refusing querries for your domain.
    Ubuntu Forums Moderation Staff
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    Don't get me wrong (I'm fairly new to this side of hosting), but the "www" entry seems out of place. Shouldn't it be something like www.ohiotech.net?

    edit: +1 to what the others have said. On my setup I have most of the entries pointing to my server, but for the name servers, I have left them at my provider's defaults.
    Last edited by lisati; August 30th, 2012 at 03:31 AM.
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    11,294
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    Quote Originally Posted by lisati View Post
    Don't get me wrong (I'm fairly new to this side of hosting), but the "www" entry seems out of place. Shouldn't it be something like www.ohiotech.net?
    No, but the ohiotech.net entry above probably is (should be ohiotech.net. -- with a trailing period). Also the MX and NS records seem wrong as well, but maybe it's the "ISPConfig" thing that displays them like that...
    Last edited by Bachstelze; August 30th, 2012 at 04:17 AM.
    「明後日の夕方には帰ってるからね。」


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    Quote Originally Posted by Bachstelze View Post
    No, but the ohiotech.net entry above probably is (should be ohiotech.net. -- with a trailing period).
    Thanks. It looks like the OP's setup is slightly different to mine, so I'll stand back and watch with interest.
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    11,294
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    Quote Originally Posted by lisati View Post
    Thanks. It looks like the OP's setup is slightly different to mine, so I'll stand back and watch with interest.
    To be honest, though, it would be better to have the actual BIND config file rather than what "ISPConfig" gives, which is incomplete and probably wrong as well.

    <rant>If you want to manage a server with something as complex as DNS yourself, you should be prepared to do the actual work, not use a shiny control panel. Otherwise, just use the provider's nameservers.</rant>
    「明後日の夕方には帰ってるからね。」


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Storybrooke
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    Or just use webmin to generate the bind config
    /hides
    Ubuntu Forums Moderation Staff
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    5

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    how would one do this with webmin? which i now have installed?

    (googling this now...)

    still any tips is helpful..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    11,294
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: cant get domain to point to server

    That was of course a joke. For starters, what you need to do is to either configure your domain to use your nameservers, or configure your provider's nameservers to serve your domain correctly. None of this is done on your server. If you don't know how to do it, contact your provider.

    If you really want to use your own nameserver and have configured your domain accordingly, we need your actual BIND config files (/etc/bind/named.conf.*).
    Last edited by Bachstelze; August 30th, 2012 at 07:11 PM.
    「明後日の夕方には帰ってるからね。」


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •