Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: I broke it

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    9

    I broke it

    I apologize, I am very new to ubuntu, and not sure how I even got to this mess, but I hope someone can help

    I had the os up and running well, I came home And noticed the unity. Launcher missing, so I went to restart the computer and noticed updates, and updated then restarted.
    On restart, it worked, but the graphics were all off, attempted nvidia x settings, and received an error message, sorry I don't remember wait it said, so I downloaded and installed new drivers.
    On reboot now I only get "ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS myname MS 7673 ttyl
    Myname-MS-7673 login:" at the top of the screen, and don't know what to do, please help

    O

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I broke it

    Welcome to the forums.

    That sounds like the non-gui or terminal login. Can you login? It is the same - username & passwork. But you will be at a terminal.

    Then try ( all the # are comments do not type anything after a #)

    #if not chroot use:
    sudo -i
    #houseclean
    apt-get autoclean # only removes files that cannot be downloaded anymore (obsolete)
    apt-get clean
    #refresh
    apt-get update #resync package index
    apt-get upgrade #newest versions of all packages, update must be run first
    #would upgrade you to the latest kernel in the repositories
    #dist-upgrade is also able to remove existing packages if required
    apt-get dist-upgrade
    apt-get -f install
    dpkg --configure -a

    All that does is update it again. It may be video issues. What video so you have and did you install new drivers?
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair - Updated Mar 2015:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    8,338
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I broke it

    Osteonectin ; Hi !

    I expect that what you see is a command line prompt in tty1..

    Lets see what happens when you log into your system, and try to get the GUI started.
    at the prompt type your normal username and hit the enter key.
    next will ask for your password //enter that...
    prompt is waiting for next command enter:
    Code:
    sudo service lightdm start
    and password again....
    I expect/hope your desktop is started.

    If so we will re-install your desk top. Please advise on the results of the above>
    regards <==BDQ

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: I broke it

    Thank you oldfred
    I was able to login
    Typed in all suggestions
    Apt-get distro and -f install netted 0 upgrades, ect, don't know if that's important
    And last command receive error MSG unknown option --config, and displayed help options

    Video card- GeForce gtx550 ti
    And I did install new drivers - before I ended up at tty screen

    Should I reboot now

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: I broke it

    Bashing- om, thank you

    Unfortunately a no go with lightdm start command
    Just a lot of text and a blinking cursor at the end

  6. #6
    Moose is offline Gee! These Aren't Roasted!
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I broke it

    Hey Osteonecctin, I don't want to be off topic but the title of your thread made me laugh

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I broke it

    Did you install the nVidia drivers? Or do you know if they were installed. I think they now install if you check the box to install the proprietary drivers. I did not do that and still had to do nomodeset until I got the nVidia driver working.

    How to set NOMODESET and other kernel boot options in grub2
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132

    Some new system also need other parameters also.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions
    http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Docum...parameters.txt
    noapic nolapic noapci noirqpoll nosmp irqpoll
    Last edited by oldfred; August 28th, 2012 at 03:46 AM.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair - Updated Mar 2015:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: I broke it

    Thanks anarchy tech I hope to add "we fixed it"

    Oldfred, sorry wish I could spend all day getting this fixed but had to go to work
    I hope you
    Or anybody else is still willing to help
    I tried apt-add-repository ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates, but no Internet connection
    I read through you're links provided, but I'm sorry it just confused me more,
    I rebooted and still same screen, next step???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I broke it

    I prefer to only install the Ubuntu versions of nVidia, not the bleeding edge versions you get from some other site.

    Have you tried the nomodeset on boot or the rescue mode (second line in grub menu)?
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair - Updated Mar 2015:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: I broke it

    If I understand correctly, after bios splash, hit shift.......changed temp with no modest, Ctrl x, and back to same tty1 screen
    Should I do permanent, if so
    edit can't I do it through a nano command
    And change the line to:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash nomodeset"
    Save
    Exit
    "sudo update-grub
    Reboot
    Should work, is that correct

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •