Thread: Remote access to 12.04 w/gui, w/o active local session?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Remote access to 12.04 w/gui, w/o active local session?

I have researched this for a few days now and am about to throw in the towel. Maybe you can help. Thank you in advance.

I have installed Ubuntu Desktop 12.04 (32 bit) and Samba and have a simple file server running that I would like to be able to control remotely from a Windows machine. But I want to be able to control it by a graphical interface - not by terminal. I can access it by remote desktop as well as vnc client, but the remote desktop doesn't work correctly (no desktop icons and compiz crashes) and if I use a VNC client, there has to be someone logged into the server. This means that if I reboot the Ubuntu system, I can't log into it remotely until I log into it locally, which means that I can't run it headless, which is really my goal.

I am not very good with Ubuntu or Linux, but have learned enough to get to this point. Can you help me get over this hurdle?

I'm sure I've left out pertinent details - let me know what matters and I'll fill you in. Any ideas? Thanks!

Beans

Re: Remote access to 12.04 w/gui, w/o active local session?

You have a couple of different problems here I think

First is that compiz pretty much breaks VNC at the moment - I've seen various recommendations like invoking with -noxdamage etc but none of them seemed to work for me. The best solution right now seems to be to customize your config to use a 2d / gnome classic session, which uses metacity rather than compiz - something like the custom ~/.vnc/xstartup file here should work:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VN...g_your_session

Second is the remote login. I've tried that a couple of different ways:

1. use the lightdm login-session-start upstart event as described here:

http://mlepicki.com/2011/10/remote-v...-ubuntu-11-10/