Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    48

    Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

    Does an rsync transfer require the rsync program to be installed on both the local and the remote computers?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    1,461
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

    No, it's only required on the computer executing the rsync. However, I believe most Linux distributions come with it built in anyway. So unless you're copying from a Windows drive, you should be covered I would imagine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    48

    Re: Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

    Thanks
    Last edited by Splooshie123; August 13th, 2012 at 01:13 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
    Beans
    3,068
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

    If you're not real comfortable in CLI, You could try Luckybackup in the repositories. It's a GUI frontend for rsync that seems pretty capable and simple to use. It also has a synch function which can be pretty useful for keeping folders synched. Plug in a USB drive, it takes a few seconds to sync the day's work to a removable drive.
    Last edited by kurt18947; August 13th, 2012 at 01:54 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

    Actually, Yes! The rsync binary is required on each end of the transfer to perform the rsync algorithm. I'm not sure if there is some sort of fallback mode or not, but I logged into a test server and did this:

    Code:
    #do not run, for testing only
    sudo chmod -x /usr/bin/rsync
    After that, attempting to rsync with that machine on the remote end caused this error:
    Code:
    bash: /usr/bin/rsync: Permission denied
    rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [Receiver]
    rsync error: remote command could not be run (code 126) at io.c(601) [Receiver=3.0.7]
    I also tried renaming the remote rsync binary, it caused this similar error:
    Code:
    bash: rsync: command not found
    rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 bytes received so far) [Receiver]
    rsync error: remote command not found (code 127) at io.c(601) [Receiver=3.0.7]
    Last edited by asmoore82; August 13th, 2012 at 02:12 PM.
    Give me Free Software or Give me Death!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lab, Slovakia
    Beans
    10,791

    Re: Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

    Yup, rsync is required on both ends if you run it over a transport protocol such as ssh.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ubuntuland
    Beans
    2,124
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Lightbulb Re: Does an rsync transfer require rsync on both machines?

    Quote Originally Posted by HermanAB View Post
    Yup, rsync is required on both ends if you run it over a transport protocol such as ssh.
    Indeed, any protocol needs support by both transmitter and receiver. That's how any communication works.
    24 beers in a case, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence? I think not!

    Trusty Tahr 64 bit, AMD Phenom II 955 Quad Core 3.2GHz, GeForce 9600 GT
    16G PC2-6400 RAM, 128 GB SSD, Twin 1TB SATA 7200 RPM RAID0

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •