Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    408
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    So I purchased a new monitor that lots of people have been talking about from Ebay. The Yamakasi Catleap 270

    I plugged it into my Nvidia gtx 460 and first tried to boot up windows (I dual boot). Everything worked just perfect.

    I then tried to boot up Kubuntu (12.04) and it went to a black screen, couldn't see anything. If I did ctrl+alt+F1 to get to a terminal, it worked and I could issue commands. So my computer wasn't frozen.

    So I uninstalled all the nvidia drivers (I had the most current ones updated before adding the monitor) and when they were turned off, it works. Using the built in video drivers for kubuntu it works just fine.

    But I'd really like to use the nivida drivers instead. So does anyone have any idea how I can do that? Clearly my video card works, since the monitor works in windows and with the default kubuntu drivers. So what do I do? I'm totally lost.

    I have two monitors, and when I install the nvidia drivers again, and go to the nvidia-settings and have it "detect" the monitors. The new large one comes up with no identify information and a max resolution of like 320x460 (or something close to that).

    Any ideas where I should go next? Thanks everyone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    408
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    So I made things a bit easier to work with.

    I switched my two monitors around. So the new one is not in the primary DVI slot on the video card. So now my 2ndary monitor (an old one) will boot and show me a desktop using the nvidia drivers.

    But the new monitor still remains black. But now, I can open nvidia settings and have it detect displays. It obviously picks up the old one just fine.

    But for the new, high resolution, one it just says this.

    DFP-2 (DFP-2 on GPU-0)

    I can tell it to do twin view, but when I do it doesn't work, it just reverts back to the old setting. Also it tells me the max resolution is 640x480.

    So it feels as though nvidia isn't recognizing the monitor at all. But I know it works, since it works in kubuntu when I turn off the nvidia driver and it works in windows.

    Does this help any in getting closer to what to do?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    33

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    I have the exact same problem.

    "X screen information" in the Nvidia control panel reports that the screen is 640x480 pixels, measuring 217x163mm at 24bpp. Name: DFP-2.

    My card is GTX 560Ti, driver is 295.40 x86_64

    Any help would be appreciated

    I should add that the monitor works perfectly under windows, detected as a "generic 2560x1440 display"
    Ubuntu 9.10

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    408
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    Allright, I have this solved on my system. So I'm going to document what I did here, in hopes that it may guide someone else to a possible solution. My situation may be unlike anyone elses, but this is what I did.

    My Setup

    Video Card = Nvidia GTX 460
    Nvidia drivers = 295.49
    OS = Kubuntu 12.04
    Monitors = Asus VE247H (1920x1080) and Yamakasi Catleap Q270

    The Problem

    From what I can tell, the problem is that the monitor is not correctly reporting the EDID. Which is the information it sends to say what type of monitor it is, and everything about it. So the nvidia drivers can't figure it out.

    Because of that, I decided to see if I could manually set it up by directly editing xorg.conf. I've never done that before, but I've got it working.

    Resource I used to Fix

    After searching for ages, I found this thread that directly confirmed my suspicion, and the basics of how to fix it.

    http://www.codesim.com/tips/index.php?t=3

    By using that link, you should in theory be able to fix yours. Thats all I used. I just had to play around with the xorg.conf to make it actually work for my system. You can see the link suggests this works with multiple monitors (Achieva Schimian, Catleap and Crossover)

    Specifically fixed for my system

    The problem I had with that, is I had never setup twinview manually. I was able get the Catleap up working alone really quick, but figuring out twinview was more difficult.

    (Their example has twinview in it, but it wasn't the same as what my system needed. If you disable those two lines in their example, a single monitor should work just by pasting that into your xorg.conf)

    I'll post my xorg.conf below twice. The first one I'll go through and explain as much as I can what I changed. And the 2nd time I'll just put it up straight as it is in my system.

    Annotated with what I changed
    Code:
    # This section defines the Catleap (HiRes) monitor.  
    # I just left this section completely the same as in the example
    #
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Shimian"
        ModelName      "QHD270"
        HorizSync      88.8
        VertRefresh    59.5
        Option         "DPMS"
        Modeline       "2560x1440" 241.50  2560 2608 2640 2720  1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
        DisplaySize    597 336  
    EndSection
    
    #
    # This section defines the video card, I didn't change anything here either
    #
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    EndSection
    
    # This is the section I changed
    #
    # The BIGGEST issue I had, was figuring out what was on DFP-0, DFP-1 and DFP-2 (which are the dvi/hdmi outputs)
    # In MY system, DFP-0 is the "primary" DVI output
    # and DFP-1 is the mini-HDMI output
    # and DFP-2 is the 2ndary DVI output
    # So I want my Catleap on DVI-0 and the Asus twinview monitor on the DFP-2 (so I had to change my cables)
    #
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "NoLogo" "True"
        Option         "TwinView" "1"
    # Leave this as DFP-0, which is where the Catleap(hires) monitor is plugged into.
    # This (I believe) tells the system what the "primary" display is in the twin view
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "UseEDID" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDDPI" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
        Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
    # This is the only other line I had to change from the example
    # DFP-0: 2560x1440_60 +0 +0   <--- This line is the "primary" display on DFP-0 (the Catleap HiRes)
    # DFP-2: 1920x1080 +2560 +0   <--- This was for the 2nd monitor, resolution and offset.
    # Don't forget the comma between the two monitors
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 2560x1440_60 +0 +0, DFP-2: 1920x1080 +2560+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    As it is in my system
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Shimian"
        ModelName      "QHD270"
        HorizSync      88.8
        VertRefresh    59.5
        Option         "DPMS"
        Modeline       "2560x1440" 241.50  2560 2608 2640 2720  1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
        DisplaySize    597 336  
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "NoLogo" "True"
        Option         "TwinView" "1"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "UseEDID" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDDPI" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
        Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 2560x1440_60 +0 +0, DFP-2: 1920x1080 +2560+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    I hope that helps people. Feel free to ask questions if what I did doesn't make sense. But I'm by no means an expert.

    I know have my two monitors working using the Nvidia Drivers. Thanks for those who pointed me in the right direction.

    Sidenotes
    For those that may not know

    xorg.conf is located in

    Code:
    /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    If it doesn't exist, create it.

    Also, this command is useful to restart to x-server

    Code:
    sudo service kdm restart     (if you are kubuntu)
    sudo service gdm restart     (if you are ubuntu)
    Also, since you often don't have a working monitor.

    Code:
    ctrl+alt+F1 and ctrl+alt+F7
    will switch you back between terminal and graphical modes.

    Hope that helps. Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    That worked perfectly for me, thank you very much for the help!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    Also worked for me. Catleap Q270 SE with NVIDIA GTX 560 on Kubuntu Lucid 10.04.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    3

    Talking Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    @NertSkull thanks for the instructions. They helped me get my Potalion 2710QW working in Ubuntu 12.04.

    Both your instructions and the ones on codesim were for dual monitors and I only have one, so I had to modify the x.conf file to remove all the dual monitor stuff.

    The lines I removed were:
    Code:
        Option         "TwinView" "1"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    The line I changed was from this:
    Code:
    Option         "metamodes" "2560x1440_60 +0 +0, 2560x1440_60 +2560+0"
    to this:
    Code:
    Option         "metamodes" "2560x1440_60 +0 +0"
    I also changed some of the device and monitor strings for my setup. Full x.conf follows:

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Monitor0"
    	VendorName	"Potalion"
    	ModelName	"Magical Monitor"
    	HorizSync	88.8
    	VertRefresh	59.5
    	Option		"DPMS"
    	Modeline	"2560x1440" 241.50 2560 2608 2640 2720  1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
    	DisplaySize	597 336
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Screen0"
    	Device		"Device0"
    	Monitor		"Monitor0"
    	DefaultDepth	24
    	Option		"NoLogo" "True"
    	Option		"UseEDID" "False"
    	Option		"UseEDIDDPI" "False"
    	Option		"UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
    	Option		"ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
    	Option		"metamodes" "2560x1440_60 +0 +0"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth	24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier	"Layout0"
    	Screen	0	"Screen0" 0 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Device0"
    	Driver		"nvidia"
    	VendorName	"NVIDIA Corporation"
    	BoardName	"GeForce GT 430"
    	Option	"NoLogo"	"True"
    EndSection

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    I just ran across an alternate method for this fix - basically it uses a prebuilt EDID file for the monitor instead of typing it all out in the x.conf file. I tried it and it seems to work - I do like that it keeps your x.conf nice and tidy. I did get an error after boot saying that colord crashed, but I don't know if it's related (Ubuntu 12.04).

    http://www.overclock.net/a/sound-qui...their-solution

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    90

    Angry Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    Hey - has anyone tried this with the Nvidia driver 304.43?

    I can't seem to get it to work! (Although I had it working with the old driver).

    Reason I want to upgrade is that this driver lets us do per physical screen colour correction, and I find the blue tint on my catleap is driving me a little crazy.

    Anyone managed to get this working? I've tried both the custom EDID and also the modified xorg.conf file, and both either won't display or I get a really mangled screen.

    Help?!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    Many Thanks for all the good help contained here.
    For a couple of days, I thought I was up the creek without a paddle
    my korean Crossover 27Q monitor now works well on 12.04 @ 2560 x 1440

    I patched an xorg.conf file together from the posts on this thread
    after i finally got some ATI drivers to load for a Radeon 7750

    Quote:
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Crossover"
    ModelName "27Q"
    HorizSync 88.8
    VertRefresh 59.5
    Option "DPMS"
    Modeline "2560x1440" 241.50 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
    DisplaySize 597 336
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "NoLogo" "True"
    Option "UseEDID" "False"
    Option "UseEDIDDPI" "False"
    Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
    Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
    Option "metamodes" "2560x1440_60 +0 +0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout0"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    Last edited by jemmy; October 14th, 2012 at 08:13 AM. Reason: grammar

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •