Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    409
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    So I purchased a new monitor that lots of people have been talking about from Ebay. The Yamakasi Catleap 270

    I plugged it into my Nvidia gtx 460 and first tried to boot up windows (I dual boot). Everything worked just perfect.

    I then tried to boot up Kubuntu (12.04) and it went to a black screen, couldn't see anything. If I did ctrl+alt+F1 to get to a terminal, it worked and I could issue commands. So my computer wasn't frozen.

    So I uninstalled all the nvidia drivers (I had the most current ones updated before adding the monitor) and when they were turned off, it works. Using the built in video drivers for kubuntu it works just fine.

    But I'd really like to use the nivida drivers instead. So does anyone have any idea how I can do that? Clearly my video card works, since the monitor works in windows and with the default kubuntu drivers. So what do I do? I'm totally lost.

    I have two monitors, and when I install the nvidia drivers again, and go to the nvidia-settings and have it "detect" the monitors. The new large one comes up with no identify information and a max resolution of like 320x460 (or something close to that).

    Any ideas where I should go next? Thanks everyone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    409
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    So I made things a bit easier to work with.

    I switched my two monitors around. So the new one is not in the primary DVI slot on the video card. So now my 2ndary monitor (an old one) will boot and show me a desktop using the nvidia drivers.

    But the new monitor still remains black. But now, I can open nvidia settings and have it detect displays. It obviously picks up the old one just fine.

    But for the new, high resolution, one it just says this.

    DFP-2 (DFP-2 on GPU-0)

    I can tell it to do twin view, but when I do it doesn't work, it just reverts back to the old setting. Also it tells me the max resolution is 640x480.

    So it feels as though nvidia isn't recognizing the monitor at all. But I know it works, since it works in kubuntu when I turn off the nvidia driver and it works in windows.

    Does this help any in getting closer to what to do?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    33

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    I have the exact same problem.

    "X screen information" in the Nvidia control panel reports that the screen is 640x480 pixels, measuring 217x163mm at 24bpp. Name: DFP-2.

    My card is GTX 560Ti, driver is 295.40 x86_64

    Any help would be appreciated

    I should add that the monitor works perfectly under windows, detected as a "generic 2560x1440 display"
    Ubuntu 9.10

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    409
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    Allright, I have this solved on my system. So I'm going to document what I did here, in hopes that it may guide someone else to a possible solution. My situation may be unlike anyone elses, but this is what I did.

    My Setup

    Video Card = Nvidia GTX 460
    Nvidia drivers = 295.49
    OS = Kubuntu 12.04
    Monitors = Asus VE247H (1920x1080) and Yamakasi Catleap Q270

    The Problem

    From what I can tell, the problem is that the monitor is not correctly reporting the EDID. Which is the information it sends to say what type of monitor it is, and everything about it. So the nvidia drivers can't figure it out.

    Because of that, I decided to see if I could manually set it up by directly editing xorg.conf. I've never done that before, but I've got it working.

    Resource I used to Fix

    After searching for ages, I found this thread that directly confirmed my suspicion, and the basics of how to fix it.

    http://www.codesim.com/tips/index.php?t=3

    By using that link, you should in theory be able to fix yours. Thats all I used. I just had to play around with the xorg.conf to make it actually work for my system. You can see the link suggests this works with multiple monitors (Achieva Schimian, Catleap and Crossover)

    Specifically fixed for my system

    The problem I had with that, is I had never setup twinview manually. I was able get the Catleap up working alone really quick, but figuring out twinview was more difficult.

    (Their example has twinview in it, but it wasn't the same as what my system needed. If you disable those two lines in their example, a single monitor should work just by pasting that into your xorg.conf)

    I'll post my xorg.conf below twice. The first one I'll go through and explain as much as I can what I changed. And the 2nd time I'll just put it up straight as it is in my system.

    Annotated with what I changed
    Code:
    # This section defines the Catleap (HiRes) monitor.  
    # I just left this section completely the same as in the example
    #
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Shimian"
        ModelName      "QHD270"
        HorizSync      88.8
        VertRefresh    59.5
        Option         "DPMS"
        Modeline       "2560x1440" 241.50  2560 2608 2640 2720  1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
        DisplaySize    597 336  
    EndSection
    
    #
    # This section defines the video card, I didn't change anything here either
    #
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    EndSection
    
    # This is the section I changed
    #
    # The BIGGEST issue I had, was figuring out what was on DFP-0, DFP-1 and DFP-2 (which are the dvi/hdmi outputs)
    # In MY system, DFP-0 is the "primary" DVI output
    # and DFP-1 is the mini-HDMI output
    # and DFP-2 is the 2ndary DVI output
    # So I want my Catleap on DVI-0 and the Asus twinview monitor on the DFP-2 (so I had to change my cables)
    #
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "NoLogo" "True"
        Option         "TwinView" "1"
    # Leave this as DFP-0, which is where the Catleap(hires) monitor is plugged into.
    # This (I believe) tells the system what the "primary" display is in the twin view
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "UseEDID" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDDPI" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
        Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
    # This is the only other line I had to change from the example
    # DFP-0: 2560x1440_60 +0 +0   <--- This line is the "primary" display on DFP-0 (the Catleap HiRes)
    # DFP-2: 1920x1080 +2560 +0   <--- This was for the 2nd monitor, resolution and offset.
    # Don't forget the comma between the two monitors
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 2560x1440_60 +0 +0, DFP-2: 1920x1080 +2560+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    As it is in my system
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Shimian"
        ModelName      "QHD270"
        HorizSync      88.8
        VertRefresh    59.5
        Option         "DPMS"
        Modeline       "2560x1440" 241.50  2560 2608 2640 2720  1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
        DisplaySize    597 336  
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "NoLogo" "True"
        Option         "TwinView" "1"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
        Option         "UseEDID" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDDPI" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
        Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
        Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 2560x1440_60 +0 +0, DFP-2: 1920x1080 +2560+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    I hope that helps people. Feel free to ask questions if what I did doesn't make sense. But I'm by no means an expert.

    I know have my two monitors working using the Nvidia Drivers. Thanks for those who pointed me in the right direction.

    Sidenotes
    For those that may not know

    xorg.conf is located in

    Code:
    /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    If it doesn't exist, create it.

    Also, this command is useful to restart to x-server

    Code:
    sudo service kdm restart     (if you are kubuntu)
    sudo service gdm restart     (if you are ubuntu)
    Also, since you often don't have a working monitor.

    Code:
    ctrl+alt+F1 and ctrl+alt+F7
    will switch you back between terminal and graphical modes.

    Hope that helps. Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    That worked perfectly for me, thank you very much for the help!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    Also worked for me. Catleap Q270 SE with NVIDIA GTX 560 on Kubuntu Lucid 10.04.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Beans
    1

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    I created an account on the forums just to thank you for this! I've been working on this problem for days, trying to get my dual Shimian monitors working with the nvidia driver. Thank you!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    409
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    I'm glad this thread has helped a few people, I'm loving my hi-res monitor.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    THANK YOU OP - you are a life saver!
    Just to help anyone who reads this this xorg.conf worked for 1 catleap monitor and a gtx 670:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Shimian"
        ModelName      "QHD270"
        HorizSync      88.8
        VertRefresh    59.5
        Option         "DPMS"
        Modeline       "2560x1440" 241.50  2560 2608 2640 2720  1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
        DisplaySize    597 336
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce GTX 670"
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "NoLogo" "True"
        Option         "UseEDID" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDDPI" "False"
        Option         "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
        Option         "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
        Option         "metamodes" "2560x1440_60 +0 +0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    Just a tip, if you can't even get to a tty shell (for example my monitor turned off if I tried to) then just put the file on a usb, boot into grub > recover mode > fsck > root
    now you have a console and simply move the file to /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    Again, awesome work for figuring this out

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    16

    Re: Nvidia card/driver and 2560x1440 Monitor

    My particular model is QNIX QX2710

    When I got it was not working but I've fixed with "modeline". There's a lot of info on this.

    However when I upgrade to kubuntu 13.04 raring the 'kde plasma workspace' stopped working. I.e. lightkdm showed it's login screen but when I hit Enter after few secs the monitor starts flickering (red,blue,green then stripes etc).

    After spending couple of hours (playing with edid etc) finally I've easy workaround:

    Just when you enter login/pass and hit Enter switch termorary to terminal with Ctrl-Alt-F1, wait few secs till it boots and then switch back with Alt+7.

    While this workaround is required for KDE GNOME (as in Ubuntu session) worked fine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •