Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,825

    KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    This effects both Precise and Quantal:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...el/+bug/988290

    I'm Erick there so no need to repeat everything I said - I hope

    I'm hoping that some of the gnome-smart folks can help me here

    Maybe Jeremy Bicha?

    I'm a bit in over my head

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,825

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    BTW I waited until the latest X-stack was built to make sure this was not just an X bug

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,919
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    I have a 4 port KVM and do not have the problem in Unity 2D. I 'll keep testing.

    How do I duplicate?
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,825

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    I have a 4 port KVM and do not have the problem in Unity 2D. I 'll keep testing.

    How do I duplicate?
    It's easy to duplicate, just set 'gnome-screensaver' to activate after a given number of minutes, then switch to a different machine and wait for that time to pass. When you try to go back to that box you'll get the expected blank screen but when you move the mouse or press a key you get an improper resolution.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,919
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    Nope.. resolution is OK here.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,825

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    Nope.. resolution is OK here.
    There is certainly a hardware component involved (maybe hardware detection), I'm not smart enough to understand it all but based on the users effected so far it's mostly Intel graphics. There is at least one with nvidia graphics though.

    In my case I know that xscreensaver works OK but gnome-screensaver does not. And only Precise and Quantal are effected, Oneiric was OK.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,919
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    Quote Originally Posted by kansasnoob View Post
    There is certainly a hardware component involved (maybe hardware detection), I'm not smart enough to understand it all but based on the users effected so far it's mostly Intel graphics. There is at least one with nvidia graphics though.

    In my case I know that xscreensaver works OK but gnome-screensaver does not. And only Precise and Quantal are effected, Oneiric was OK.

    I think I mixed up my testing here. It keeps saying gnome screensaver <ok> then pops up xscreensaver and I have to press ok otherwise it will hang .. so I must be using xscreensaver daemon then.

    I think the hardware component is EFI which transfers BIOS data from the monitor across the KVM. I talked to effenberg about this during precise testing. I'll see if I can dig up olde Precise topic.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,919
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    4,373
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KVM switch + gnome-screensaver bug?

    I don't know if this is related but I have been getting a warning during boot about KVM disabled in bios . I have just been ignoring it because I don't use a KVM switch .
    if it ain't broke you haven't tweaked it enough

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •