Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: GRUB: No kernel loaded

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    GRUB: No kernel loaded

    Hello, I am new to Ubuntu, and I have wanted to install ubuntu on my USB stick with persistance (or how is it called). I followed this tutorial - http://rudd-o.com/linux-and-free-software/a-better-way-to-create-a-customized-ubuntu-live-usb-drive step by step, no errors, I just edited filenames "initrd.gz" to "initrd.lz". But now, when I try to boot from the USB stick, there is a black screen with something like this "Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists possible device/flies completions" , and I do not know what to do now. When I type in "boot" it says, that kernel was not loaded. I have searched in google, found some threades, but I just can not make it work, I think it has something to do with the grub.conf file, which I have set as in that tutorial, but when I see the ones in the others threades they are not alike. Would someone, please, describe me, what I have to do and why? Beacause, I am a newbie and I just do not understand what I should do from the others threads. I am using ubuntu 11.10. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    Grub2 now has a loopmount feature, so you do not have to extract kernel & init to boot like with grub legacy.

    The grub entry is grub legacy says set root (hd0,0) which is first drive, first partition. Even though flash drive may not be first, if you select it from BIOS to boot from it will be hd0, but you installed to the second partition. then it should be (hd0,1) in grub legacy. Note that grub2 starts partition numbers at 1, where grub legacy starts at 0.

    Boot multiple ISOs from one flash:
    These are scripts to install many ISOs. Some that will not loopmount by installing a kernel and boot image.
    MultiBootUSB - Install and boot multiple Linux from Pendrive / Flash drive / USB disk w/grub2
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/In...shDriveUSBDisk
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1518273
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/multibootusb/files/
    MultiSystem Another LiveUSB Multiboot French(translate) w/grub2
    http://liveusb.info/dotclear/

    Same thing as your link except using grub2.
    MultiBoot USB with Grub2 (boot directly from iso files)
    Basically you just install grub2, create a folder for the isos and edit a grub.cfg to loop mount the isos.
    HOWTO: Booting LiveCD ISOs from USB flash drive with Grub2
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1288604
    http://ubuntu-ky.ubuntuforums.org/sh....php?t=1535864
    Install grub2 to USB -general info
    http://members.iinet.net/~herman546/....html#GRUB_USB
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  3. #3

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    I had that screen come up after an upgrade from 10.10 to 11.04 (on the way to an upgrade to 12.04). The upgrade completed satisfactoraly and asked for a reboot. I never got a solution on the forum and eventually killed it and started anew.

    I was told all sorts of problems could happen with upgrades and other un related information but not an answer that would restore the program that should have booted if the upgrade had completed correctly.

    Is there a simple command that can be entered at the prompt that will restore the program.

    Barry

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    No kernel loaded is usually a grub configuration issue. I get it when my manual configure of grub to boot something is not quite correct.

    With grub2 this will solve many boot issues, but it does not work with grub legacy as that has not been the standard with Ubuntu since last used in 9.04.

    Boot Repair -Also handles LVM, GPT, separate /boot and UEFI dual boot.:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair
    You can repair many boot issues with this or 'Create BootInfo' report (Other Options) & post the link it creates, so we can see your exact configuration.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    Maybe I did not understand, but I have deleted all partitions on my USB, created a new, big one, on which I have installed grub by this HowTo, It created the boot folder, I have created the grub.conf file, and then copied the ubuntu 11.10 LiveCD .iso file to the "isos" folder. But when I try to boot now, GRUB is all the same and says No Loaded Kernel.. What have I done wrong?
    Last edited by han5vk; July 31st, 2012 at 02:06 PM. Reason: .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    Post your grub.cfg file and what path is the iso file?

    This is my path from my hard drive's Ubuntu, so it has the extra media and label from the flash drive of MC4GB, note case is also important:
    /media/MC4GB/boot/iso

    This is my entry for 11.10. All my recent installs have used a similar ISO boot but from another hard drive.
    I often have to experiment with this as with multiple drives it often changes. hd0 usually works better than the /dev/sdd.
    (/dev/sdd,msdos1)


    Code:
    set default=0 
    set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
    set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
    set gfxpayload=800x600
    menuentry "Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric 64bit" {
        set isofile="/boot/iso/oneiric-desktop-amd64.iso"
        loopback loop (/dev/sdd,msdos1)/$isofile 
        linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile nomodeset noprompt
        initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    Last edited by oldfred; July 31st, 2012 at 03:27 PM.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    This is my grub.conf file
    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu" {
        set isofile="/boot/isos/ubuntu.iso" 
        loopback loop (hd0,1)$isofile 
        linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile nomodeset
        initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    The .iso file is on the only one partition of my USB drive, labelled "HanUSB". The .iso file is in "isos" folder which is in "boot" folder, so from the root of the bootable partition /dev/sdb1 labelled "HanUSB" it is "/boot/isos/ubuntu.iso". All my files should be lowcase. I was experimenting now with multiple settings in grub.conf file, but I have always end on the same black screen saying the same creepy sentence. When I type "boot" it always says the same..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    Does your grub work with grub.conf? Ubuntus' grub2 is grub.cfg, but I have seen grub.conf with other distributions, I think.

    You may just be missing a /

    loopback loop (hd0,1)$isofile
    loopback loop (hd0,1)/$isofile
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    Well, uh, I have mistakenly created a grub.conf, not grub.cfg config file, so that was the reason for these troubles. Now, it launches the menu, with the "Ubuntu" option. But, when I click that it displays two errors, first something like "cannot read the Linux header"; and the second one something like "you need to load the kernel first". So, what is the matter here?
    Last edited by han5vk; July 31st, 2012 at 07:46 PM. Reason: corrrection!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: GRUB: No kernel loaded

    Which Ubuntu ISO are you booting. I assume you did rename it to ubuntu.iso?

    I never could get some of them to work, only desktop versions.

    Grub does not loopmount alternate
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...er/+bug/914926

    I also had similar issue with server version. Kernel is not in the same place in ISO and even when corrected, it starts to load, but then gets lost.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •