Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Installing Ubuntu on Dell with No Linux Experience

Beans

Question Installing Ubuntu on Dell with No Linux Experience

Hello Everyone,

I have a Dell Dimension 2350 that I would like to install Linux on. I have no experience with Linux or messing around with computers too much.

Dell Dimension 2350 Specs:
    256MB of RAM
    2GHZ Intel Celeron
    Windows XP

http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...2350/specs.htm

The HD has about 10GB being used out of 60GB. I would like to do dual boot on this Dell, but I am not sure if this is possible. If not, what is the best way to wipe the HD of Windows for installing Ubuntu? Can I still keep Word, Excel, PowerPoint on Ubuntu?

I have seen a some people have had issues installing Ubuntu with this particular Dell. I was wondering if it would be better to consider using an older Ubuntu version?

Any advice or help is appreciated.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Re: Installing Ubuntu on Dell with No Linux Experience

Quote Originally Posted by pcfast View Post
    Hello Everyone,

I have a Dell Dimension 2350 that I would like to install Linux on. I have no experience with Linux or messing around with computers too much.

256MB of RAM
    2GHZ Intel Celeron
    Windows XP

The HD has about 10GB being used out of 60GB. I would like to do dual boot on this Dell, but I am not sure if this is possible. If not, what is the best way to wipe the HD of Windows for installing Ubuntu? Can I still keep Word, Excel, PowerPoint on Ubuntu?

I have seen a some people have had issues installing Ubuntu with this particular Dell. I was wondering if it would be better to consider using an older Ubuntu version?

Windows programs will not run in Ubuntu, with a few exceptions. Office very likely will not. Ubuntu comes with a free alternative- LibreOffice- which is every bit as good IMHO.
    Installing a dual boot is very easy. BUT- before you do anything:

Back up your data.