Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bash scripting with mtp-tools

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Bash scripting with mtp-tools

In lack of compatible software for an old MP3 player like mine (I've tried it all), I'm writing my own bash scripts for transfering playlists. I got libmtp/mtp-tools, and the commands work perfectly, but are difficult to implement in a script.

For example, mtp-newfolder, upon completion, outputs something like this:
    Code:
    libmtp version: 1.3.3

New folder ID: 43722
    And I want the ID for subsequent commands. After hours of painstaking testing with sed and grep, I gave up and succeded to obtain the ID using this script:
    Code:
        oput=`mtp-newfolder ${gFolder} ${ind_music} 0`
        oput=${oput//[a-zA-Z]/ }
        set -- $oput
        folder_ID=$4
    The output of the other tools make this method hard, if not impossible, and I don't like doing it this way. Now, I'm an amateur at most of this scripting, but I have two hopes in mind:

A) Somewhere, someplace, the ID is actually sent alone, and I can fetch it if only I know where to look.
    B) I can rewrite the mtp-tools and change the output, or write my own that work as I wish. I know C, so I should manage this if only I knew how.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Bash scripting with mtp-tools

If I have understood your requirement clearly , you want to extract ID from the below output .

Code:
    libmtp version: 1.3.3

New folder ID: 43722
    try this below commandline .

Code:
    echo 'libmtp version: 1.3.3\
    > New folder ID: 43722' | awk -F":" '/ID/{print $2}'
    Last edited by codemaniac; July 19th, 2012 at 01:39 PM.
    “Progress is made by lazy men looking for easier ways to do things”
    — Robert A. Heinlein

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Thank you, I am still considering this kind of method. However, I run into problems with the following output, from mtp-sendtr: