Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    I meant title to be: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from FreeDOS environment...Sorry for the confusion...

    Hi everybody. I am trying to flash a new BIOS update from F23 to F29 for my HP dv6-3143 laptop. I am having trouble executing the InsydeFlash.exe to load the F29 bin file. Apparently it will not run in a FreeDOS environment. I am a complete newb to ubuntu/linux coming from programming in windows the past years...Any ideas how to get this BIOS updated without installing windows or bricking my laptop? thanks in advance

    I have followed instructions to extract my the driver I downloaded from the HP website
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...roduct=4332734

    I downloaded the Win 64 bit...

    The EXE could not be run from FreeDOS so I extracted the file using 7z

    I got the following files...
    01448F29.BIN <==this is my BIOS, have no idea how to get it to run in FreeDOS
    platform.ini
    xerces-c_2_7.dll
    iscflashx64.sys
    icsflash.sys
    iscflash.dss
    insydeflash.exe <===updates the BIN file but cannot be run in a FreeDOS environment
    fwupdLcl.exe
    Flshookdll.dll
    ding.wav
    AtpTimerinfo.dll

    I have tried the websites below
    http://jennyandlih.com/flashing-bios-exe-ubuntu
    http://www.linuxinsight.com/how-to-f...ppy-drive.html

    i am looking at
    http://hwoarang.silverarrow.org/2011...p-insyde-bios/
    scratching my head

    I have checked FLASHROM - and i dont think my laptop/motherboard is compatable so i am not going to try the lazy man's route
    http://op111.net/83/

    i have tried creating a bootableCD for the sp55299.exe (hp driver file name) and running the sp file within FreeDOS it will not execute
    I have tried creating a bootable CD for all the files extracted from the sp55299.exe (hp driver file name) and running all exes. each exe when executed came back with nothing. i tried insydeflash 01448F29.BIN and nothing happened....

    After more research i figured out insydeflash.exe updates the bios using the BIN file but will not do it in FreeDOS

    Is there anyway i can create a bootable CD in linux so i can update my bios??? i removed my windows partition when i did the install on the laptop =(
    i would have to order a recovery cd to re-install windows to install the BIOS update...
    Last edited by jkn83; July 17th, 2012 at 07:27 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    You don't have to order a recovery CD from HP just to update your BIOS. Instead, do a quick install of Windows 7 using a disc you can make from here:

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/wind...ta-before.html

    You don't need a product key to install it and use it for 30 days. That's plenty of time just to install your BIOS update.

    But the other question is: why are you updating your BIOS? What specific problem are you trying to fix? If you can't answer that question, don't update your BIOS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    that link is dead...

    do you have another link that is working or should i just look for a windows trial download?

    i have a AMD/Intel Hybrid Graphic card and i need my bios updated so i can choose dynamic...this way i can install the video driver correctly
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1930450

    thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    i found
    http://techpp.com/2009/11/11/downloa...ownload-links/

    the files are humongous like 3GB
    Last edited by jkn83; July 17th, 2012 at 08:46 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    Sorry - I think that link just died. (Google's cache of it is still up for the moment if you google for the link itself; mostly the link is a short set of instructions and links to the downloads on DigitalRiver.) But yes, try the links from Softpedia. Looks like the same thing. Yes, Windows 7 DVDs are huge images.

    There may be other ways to do the BIOS update with a boot floppy that are simpler and faster, once you figure them out. But the Windows 7 install method will work for sure, even if it takes longer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    yea i think i am going to download the windows iso file

    use http://www.isotousb.com/
    to create bootable usb and install windows
    update bios
    then reinstall ubuntu
    and install my video drivers
    and finally be done with this ridiculous low graphics mode error i have been facing after installing the updated 12-6-x86 video drivers...

    still got to resolve why i cant connect to some wireless networks using a broadcom STA 4313

    i can connect to my parents unsecured network, but not this coffee shops unsecured network

    i can connect to this other coffee's shop's network that is in WEP - i found a fix but didnt save the link then did a reinstall of linux now i am all searching the same problem again

    i tried the fwcutter but it didnt resolve the issue...i think i can connect to WEP and not WPA any idea on that? lol - figure its a long shot

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Belo Horizonte, Brazil
    Beans
    75
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    My deal:

    Install Windows again and update your BIOS through Windows.

    Don't make things hard for you, you save time, save money and save your computer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: BIOS Update DV6-3143 - can't update from DOS environment...

    I really feel for everyone who has to deal with a crappy Broadcom wireless card. This forum is full of Broadcom wireless issues. I always swap out those cards with Intel wireless cards whenever it's possible in a laptop, because they are so cheap on eBay, and Intel wireless cards seem to work much better in general in Linux. Unfortunately, HP and Lenovo laptops lock down the list of compatible wireless cards in the BIOS with a "white list" - so if you plug in a wireless card that isn't on their list, you can't even boot up the machine! I don't have this problem with Dell, Acer, Toshiba, etc. One reason I won't be buying HP or Lenovo laptops any time soon.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •