Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 51

Thread: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    34
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    To remount without restarting:
    Code:
    sudo mount -a
    I had to remove line 16 and line 18 in my .davfs2/davfs2.conf to get be able to mount box.net. As with most people, I can create folders using the command line, but cp and mv does not work.

    Adding box.net as a Network Folder (Kubuntu) allows me to copy and stuff using Dolphin.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Umea / Sweden
    Beans
    12

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    The problem with I/O Errors upon copying/moving files has to do with the webdav server not responding well to file locks.

    Add 'nolocks' to the options in the fstab entry or add '-o nolocks' on the command line.

    See this thread for more info http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.p...forum_id=82589

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Madrid
    Beans
    111
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Thank you very much! Finally I could use WebDAV!!!

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Beans
    21

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Hi everyone,


    I recently signed up for Ubuntu 7.10 based hosting with VPSLink. I wanted to try mounting Box.net from the command line to get a little more disk. My plan was to place my photos and videos on Box.net, yet be able to access them 'locally'.


    Unfortunately I am encountering some problems. I'm receiving the following three lines after I enter my username and password.

    ===
    /sbin/mount.davfs: no free coda device to mount
    /sbin/mount.davfs: trying fuse kernel file system
    /sbin/mount.davfs: fuse device opened successfully.
    ===

    Now, I'm not sure what to make of this. I see the mount point 'Box.net' on the file system. When I 'cd' onto the mount point and try to 'ls', I receive the following message.

    "ls: .: Transport endpoint is not connected
    ===

    Can anyone make any sense of this, and what should I do to fix or get around this? I opted for OpenVZ instead of Xen based hosting. Could this be the cause of my problems?

    Thanks in advance...

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Did you ever get any answers?
    I have the problem where I can mount box.net with my user and create folders and copy over files, but only the folders show up in box.net. Anyone have a solution to this?

    Thanks

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    4

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Quote Originally Posted by gThree View Post
    @naked | anyone else:

    Nautilus File Browser >> File >> Connect To Server
    or
    Start Menu >> Places >> Connect To Server

    then

    [CODE]
    Service type = Secure WebDAV (HTTPS)
    Ah... there's a problem there, you see in Hardy Heron, I don't get the Secure WebDAV option - just the plain HTTP version.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Beans
    165
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Yeah, I'm thinking the reason I can't login with the server is because its not HTTPS but only HTTP. So the only way I can get in is through the CL and then I can't access it cause' its mounted as bloody root!!
    Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. - Goethe

    Education is what is left when you have forgotten all the facts. -Francis Bacon

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Beans
    25
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Does anyone have any idea how to use a proxy through davfs? I would like to access my account when I am at uni, but it uses a proxy at uni, and I can't work out how to do that.
    Desktop - AMD Phenom 4x 2.6 GHz, 4GB RAM, 9500GT 1GB GDDR2, 750GB of HDD space
    Laptop - Intel Celeron M processor, 1.25GB RAM, 40 GB HDD
    http://www.10people.co.cc

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    10

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Quote Originally Posted by ya-manickill View Post
    Does anyone have any idea how to use a proxy through davfs? I would like to access my account when I am at uni, but it uses a proxy at uni, and I can't work out how to do that.
    Set it up in /etc/davfs2/davfs2.conf

    Read
    Code:
    man davfs2.conf
    for the full story.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    22

    Re: [howto] Mount your Box.Net account using WebDAV

    Thank you for the great HowTo!

    For me, mount, cp, mv, rm all work, and I can create directories, but the directories are not recognized as directories: cd says: "Not a directory."

    Any thoughts on how to make davfs see that the directories are in fact directories? Thank you in advance!

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •