Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Multiple Remmina Instances?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    896
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Exclamation Multiple Remmina Instances?

    Does anyone how to connect to 2 different machines via Remmina, across 2 workspaces? The best I can do is middle click on the Remmina icon which will launch the main menu while I am already connect to a single machine, but then when I launch a connect to a second machine, it just switches me workspaces to where I have the original connection and adds a tab What I want:

    Workspace 3: launch remmina and connect to a remote PC

    Workspace 4: middle click on remmina icon to launch a second instance of remmina and then connect to a second remote PC

    Then I would be able to switch between remote PCs but switching workspaces and not tabs on a single workspace....Anyone know how to do this or if it is even possible?
    613websites.com Budget Canadian Web Design and Hosting

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    896
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Multiple Remmina Instances?

    Do nobody else try to connect to 2 different remote PCs at the same time with Remmina? Can someone give it a shot and tell me what happens for them?
    613websites.com Budget Canadian Web Design and Hosting

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    413
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Multiple Remmina Instances?

    Hi,

    We've just started to use Remmina. On Xubuntu 12.04 in workspace 1 I can connect to a remote machine.

    In workspace 2 I can launch Remmina again and connect to another remote machine.

    So now I have two remote connections on separate workspaces.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    896
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Multiple Remmina Instances?

    Quote Originally Posted by Azdour View Post
    Hi,

    We've just started to use Remmina. On Xubuntu 12.04 in workspace 1 I can connect to a remote machine.

    In workspace 2 I can launch Remmina again and connect to another remote machine.

    So now I have two remote connections on separate workspaces.

    Really? Would you mind posting the version of Remmina you are using and how exactly you are launching it on 2 seperate workspaces (steps) ?
    613websites.com Budget Canadian Web Design and Hosting

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    413
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Multiple Remmina Instances?

    Hi,

    It's Remmina 0.9.99.1

    I'm using the XFCE because its Xubuntu - are you using Unity?

    Anyway:

    1. In workspace 1 I go to Applications | Internet | Remmina Remote Desktop Client
    2. This launches the Remmina window which lists my two remote machines.
    3. I click on the first machine and select connect. The desktop opens in a window in workspace 1.

    4. I then click on workspace 2.
    5. I go to Applications | Internet | Remmina Remote Desktop Client.
    6. This launches the Remmina window in workspace 2 which lists my two remote machines.
    7. I click on the second machine and select connect. The desktop opens in a window in workspace 2.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    896
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Multiple Remmina Instances?

    Weird.....Yes, I am using Unity but have the same version of Remmina. I just double checked and no luck I can launch 2 instances of the main menu but as soon as I launch a connection to a 2nd remote PC, it switches to which ever workspaces already has a remote connection and opens it as a tab

    613websites.com Budget Canadian Web Design and Hosting

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •