Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    100

    HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

    I have made my ET installation work following these steps, please note that some of them may be unnecessesary and it may not work on every system configuration:

    1) Get all ia32 packages from synaptic.
    2) Install package "linux32" (it's a uname wrapper )
    3) Install ia32-libs-more from Subterrific's package: http://illadvised.com/~jason/ia32-extras-0.1.tar.gz
    4) Get 32-bit OpenGL DRI libs for your graphics card.
    4.1) (ATI cards only) Go to www.ati.com and download the 32-bit rpm of your driver (same version as 64-bit).
    4.2) (ATI cards only) Unpack "fglrx_dri.so" (should be under "/./usr/X11R6/lib/modules/dri/" inside the package).
    4.3) (ATI and nVidia cards) Put it in "/usr/X11R6/lib32/modules/dri". That directory should not exist, so you have to create it.
    5) Run the latest ET setup binary (2.56) by doing "linux32 sh et-linux-2.56.x86.run".
    6) Follow the setup instructions and complete the installation process.
    7) Put Kareema's lines (the bold ones) in your startup script ([game's install path]/et):
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    # Needed to make symlinks/shortcuts work.
    # the binaries must run with correct working directory
    export LIBGL_DRIVERS_DIR=/usr/X11R6/lib32/modules/dri
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib32:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:.
    cd "/mnt/XFS-Drive/games/enemy-territory/"
    ./et.x86 $*
    exit $?
    8 ) Fire up the script by doing "linux32 sh et" (it should work without doing "linux32", but I haven't tried it yet).

    Step 3 should be optional, but it can't hurt to have a few more 32-bit libs lying around I haven't tried removing them.
    Also, setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH should be optional, I haven't tried it yet.

    These procedure should also work for Q3, but I haven't tried that...

    For those of you running nVidia cards, you could try the following steps (I don't know whether they work or not):

    4.1) (nVidia only) Go to www.nvidia.com and download the 32-bit linux driver (get the same version as your current 64-bit driver).
    4.2) Only unpack it by doing "$ sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-7167-pkg1.run --extract-only"
    4.3) Copy both the "libGLcore.so.1.0.7167" file and the "libGL.so.1.0.7167" file from "...[place where you unpacked]/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-7167-pkg1/usr/lib" to "/usr/X11R6/lib32/modules/dri". Create the directory if needed.
    Continue with the remaining steps and post back your results, so we can know if it works!

    [EDIT]I've been told this method is not working on nVidia cards, so I guess that makes this Howto for ATI hardware only.
    Last edited by Pse; March 16th, 2005 at 05:18 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

    These instructions didn't work for me (amd64, breezy, nvidia). However, I got ET working by adding

    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.4.2

    to the "et" startup script, in addition to what was suggested above, apart from the "dri" directory which doesn't exist w/ nvidia.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

    iam on ubuntu 6.10 (linux 2.6.20.3 x86_64) and this worked for me. I just needed to install the ia32 libs and the game now runs with only "et" in the console.
    thanks
    Last edited by fitmik; March 31st, 2007 at 10:27 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

    the game works for me and im on nvidia 6600gt.
    but im experiencing very low performance ingame: 20fps on fueldump where i should be at 80 90 fps on my debian 32 bits system.
    i thought it would be faster on linux64 but its not the case maybe because it is emulating some things to use the 32bits game

    Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

    ok the bug is fixed. i think i messed with the video settings in game (maybe the single multi pass texture option).
    The default settings are working well.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    7

    Re: HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

    Works great for me on presario r3000.
    All I didn't have to do anything, because I previously followed the skype amd 64 h ow to. Both Enemy Territory and the Combat Elite mod run awesome at 1280x1024 on this laptop. Sound works to without any of the sdl scripts. I am blown away! This runs so much better than my desktop.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    63

    Re: HOWTO: Enemy Territory/Q3 on AMD64 (no chrooting)

    Hi-

    I just installed ET. It works, but I have no sound. Here is the following information I get from the terminal:

    ------- sound initialization -------
    /dev/dsp: Input/output error
    Could not mmap /dev/dsp
    ------------------------------------
    Sound memory manager started
    Sys_LoadDll(/home/kb7ypf/.etwolf/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so)...
    Sys_LoadDll(/home/kb7ypf/.etwolf/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so) failed:
    "/home/kb7ypf/.etwolf/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"
    Sys_LoadDll(/usr/local/games/enemy-territory/etmain/ui.mp.i386.so)... ok
    Sys_LoadDll(ui) found **vmMain** at 0xae203bb4
    Sys_LoadDll(ui) succeeded!
    Found high quality video and fast CPU
    --- Common Initialization Complete ---
    Opening IP socket: localhost:27960
    Hostname: kb7ypf-desktop
    IP: 127.0.1.1
    Started tty console (use +set ttycon 0 to disable)
    execing preset_high.cfg
    r_colorbits will be changed upon restarting.
    r_depthbits will be changed upon restarting.
    r_picmip will be changed upon restarting.
    r_mode will be changed upon restarting.
    r_texturebits will be changed upon restarting.
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )


    Hope someone can help me out. Thanks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •