Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    63

    TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    Upgraded to .26 and Mythbuntu 12.04 over the weekend. Though sound from recording and videos is coming through fine, I used Myth's Search Internet video yesterday and was suddenly not getting sound from the youtube videos.

    What do I need to check to make sure sound from "Search Internet Videos" is working.

    My myth sound setup is:

    ALSA:hdmi:CARD=NVidia_1,DEV=3 ;

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    You need to assign a default sound device in /etc/asound.conf

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    63

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    this is what it says right now:

    pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave.pcm {
    type hw
    card 1
    device 3
    }
    }

    are there any utils to help with this? do i need to change card to nvidia_1?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    63

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    Okay...I tried various command lines and I get sound from the TV speakers if I enter:

    speaker-test -Dhw:1,9 -c2

    Changed my asound.conf to:

    pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card 1
    device 9
    }

    Still no sound in Firefox and Myth's net video. (Again, myth sound elsewhere is fine.)

    I remember JYA in the myth list wondering why people hand wrote asound.conf setting, but I don't appear to have any sound setting stuff in my xfce menus.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    Quote Originally Posted by dheianevans View Post
    this is what it says right now:

    pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave.pcm {
    type hw
    card 1
    device 3
    }
    }

    are there any utils to help with this? do i need to change card to nvidia_1?
    There is a utility to change the default sound device in standard ubuntu (or there used to be pre unity anyway) but I don't think the utility is in the xfce menus you get with mythbuntu.

    asound config files are a b***y mystery to me unless someone tells me exactly what to write, so I am not much more help, except to point here http://alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Asoundrc

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    63

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    The config is a mystery to me too.

    What's annoying is that it worked fine in 11.04. Obviously MYth working is the main thing, but if ya can't occasionally use Media->Search Internet Videos or browse shows in mythnetvision, that;s annoying too.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    32

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    I had problems that are similar to what you are having. My thread may help.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2052545

    gl

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    63

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    thanks. we've been working on the asound.conf file but so far no luck.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    32

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    Quote Originally Posted by dheianevans View Post
    What's annoying is that it worked fine in 11.04.
    I had the same experience going from 11.04 to 12.04 using HDMI audio from an NVIDIA card. See the links in my second post here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1967755. You may need to follow the entire guide, but you you could just trying to jump to the section that fixed it for me (noted in my post).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    63

    Re: TV sound is fine but no sound in internet video

    hmm, one of the steps is:

    grep "eld_valid *1" /proc/asound/NVidia/eld*

    That directory doesn't have any eld* stuff in it.

    NVidia_1 does though, but that grep doesn't find anything...so I'm not sure what the next step would be.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •