Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: OpenJDK Java 7 Runtime - safe for banking?

Beans

Question OpenJDK Java 7 Runtime - safe for banking?

Hey!

I hope this is the correct forum - let me know if it isn't.

I need java for my internet bank, so I just installed OpenJDK.

In windows, I've always used Sun, cause that's the easiest choise, I suppose. As I haven't been robbed yet, I'm presuming that Sun is a safe java-applet when using bank-services on the internet.

Now I'm wondering - is OpenJDK as safe, or safer, to use with banking?
    I'm relatively new to Linux, so opensource is still a bit blurry to me; therefore I'm prone to thinking "opensource must mean that it's easier to extract bank-information, and I don't know if I can trust someone other than Sun"

Now, I would appreciate if someone could prove me wrong=P

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: OpenJDK Java 7 Runtime - safe for banking?

well I would rather see it so that the java you have installed, it is somthing like an other oprearting system. It is kind of virtual machine. It self it does not do anythning, but sit here and wait for some program written for this machine.

So the work is done by the program written for the java virtual machine. This is then the applet which you will download from the bank website etc.

How this applet is written and what quality we dont know, but I would assume that a bank did quite a degree of consulting on that subject before releasing an applet.
    Those applet do often all the cryptography jobs, they create the session keys, sign the messages with the private key, encrypt all to the bank key etc.

As every system, the java virtual machine can be attacked too, but in this case the integrity of the applet supplied by the bank seems to me much more important.

Beans