Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Smile Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    I synced with Quantal image on TestDrive. I was very excited to run the development release until I realized how slow QEMU was! It takes 15 minutes every time for Ubuntu 12.10 to get to the screen, Try or Install Ubuntu.

    I don't want to install Quantal from scratch into my computer. Thus, I've been seeking ways to install Quantal safely and efficiently. One solution I found was to use virtualbox in accordance with QEMU, but the question is how?

    How can I link TestDrive and QEMU together so that I could try Quantal? A prospective developer should run the latest release... Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    Installing VirtualBox with any Ubuntu version is a matter of minutes. No QEMU needed.

    So:
    Install & Start VirtualBox
    Create a new Virtual Machine, boot it, point it to the download quantal image

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    Alright, thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    Ok, I started running Ubuntu Quantal in VM, and I see this.

    This kernel requires an x86-64 CPU, but oonly detected an i686 CPU. Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU.
    How do I fix this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    Quote Originally Posted by epikvision View Post
    Ok, I started running Ubuntu Quantal in VM, and I see this.



    How do I fix this?
    Well, as the error message suggests: download the 32-bit version of Quantal.

    (You downloaded the 64-bit version of Quantal, and your OS and/or your CPU is only 32-bit).
    Last edited by sanderj; July 11th, 2012 at 10:24 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    Well! I never knew that I was running x32 Ubuntu all along! My computer has x64 processor.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    Quote Originally Posted by epikvision View Post
    Well! I never knew that I was running x32 Ubuntu all along! My computer has x64 processor.

    "uname -a" will tell you.

    And: ubuntu.com still offers the 32-bit Ubuntu version as the default version. So, if you just click, you will get the 32-bit version.
    Reason: the 32-bit version will run on any x86-CPU, and thanks to the PAE-kernel, even 32-bit versions can use all the memory (also more than 4GB). In other words: the 32-bit version always works.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    138
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    Ok, I encountered a new challenge. As I was trying to install quantal by running it, I was hoping to be directed to the "Try or Install Ubuntu" window. Instead, an error message pops up saying
    Installation failed. Installation encountered a serious error. You will be redirected to the desktop session...
    Then I get redirected to the desktop session. I press on "Install Ubuntu 12.10" only to get another error message, that Ubuntu 12.10 experienced an internal error with executable path, do-release-upgrade.

    Is this a bug? if so, how can I report it?

    Is it necessary for the prospective developer to have the development release installed, because I'm trying to my utmost to install it in virtualbox?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Getting Started with running latest development release on VM

    I had a hard time finding this post. I'm glad i'm here finally. Thanks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •