Thread: Minecraft magic launcher problem

Beans

Minecraft magic launcher problem

Hello to everyone!

I am very new to the world of minecraft and I am slowly getting to be good at it thanks to a lot of help from forums like these and of course other nooks and crannies of the internet. I play minecraft on Ubuntu 11.10 and I have a fairly decent system and the game runs without any serious issues.

So I stumbled upon this launcher and it looks like it would be ideal for me to take my minecraft experience to the next level in terms of mods etc. So I tried to do that but I got stuck - this problem might be more Ubuntu related than the launcher itself but I still need some expertise.

I run the minecraft game using the standard script:
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/lib/jvm/java-7-oracle/jre/lib/amd64"
    padsp java -Xmx512M -Xms256M -cp Minecraft.jar net.minecraft.LauncherFrame

This works fine. Now when I run the magic launcher it comes up fine but while doing set up, in the advanced tab I dont know what to give for JAVA.
    If I leave the default, /usr/lib/jvm/java-7-oracle/jre/bin/java, then while hitting TEST I get the error:
    /.minecraft/bin/natives/liblwjgl.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32 (Possible cause: architecture word width mismatch)
    If I try and change it to match the LD_LIBRARY_PATH, I dont have an executable I can point to in the amd64 directory - so I am unable to set it as it does not accept a directory.

I think the problem revolves around setting up java correctly, I am wondering if I should have got a 32 bit java installed.

I know that to run Minecraft the export statement is mandatory (especially so for java 7), so I am running around
    in circles trying to get the launcher working, I am eager to try some mods etc, so I was hoping someone out here can help me out.

Thanks,
    Ananth

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Minecraft magic launcher problem

Magic launcher