Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No sound!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    No sound!

    Hey everybody!

    I've recently installed Ubuntu 12.04 on my system, but I have no sound! I've checked if the speakers were on mute and the obvious things, but those were fine. How do I solve this issue?
    Question Everything

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No sound!

    Did you try
    Code:
    sudo alsa force-reload
    Also you can check
    Code:
     cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
    to see what is your card codec.
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/modules
    to see card module..Then you can check out your card model here
    Code:
    zcat /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/HD-Audio-Models.txt.gz
    and try to set the correct parameter in
    Code:
     
    sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
    with options <your card model> MODEL=what did you find in HD-Audio-Models.txt

    You can also set parameter MODEL=auto . Its a generic parameter that works sometimes..

    Check the documentation here > https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HdaIntelSoundHowto

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No sound!

    Thank you. I'll try these out.
    Question Everything

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No sound!

    Quote Originally Posted by NikTh View Post
    Did you try
    Code:
    sudo alsa force-reload
    Also you can check
    Code:
     cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
    to see what is your card codec.
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/modules
    to see card module..Then you can check out your card model here
    Code:
    zcat /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/HD-Audio-Models.txt.gz
    and try to set the correct parameter in
    Code:
     
    sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
    with options <your card model> MODEL=what did you find in HD-Audio-Models.txt

    You can also set parameter MODEL=auto . Its a generic parameter that works sometimes..

    Check the documentation here > https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HdaIntelSoundHowto
    Thank you very much!! Running the first command worked! Just so I understand and can help myself if this ever happens again, running that first command reloads the ALSA?
    Question Everything

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No sound!

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadius View Post
    running that first command reloads the ALSA?
    Yes. Basically force-reloads Alsa modules .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No sound!

    Quote Originally Posted by NikTh View Post
    Yes. Basically force-reloads Alsa modules .
    Thank you. Also, when I ran the second code, it gave me this:
    Code:
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
    cat: /proc/asound/card0/codec97#0: Is a directory
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$
    What does this mean? Wasn't it supposed to show some codec?
    Question Everything

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No sound!

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadius View Post
    Also, when I ran the second code, it gave me this:
    Code:
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
    cat: /proc/asound/card0/codec97#0: Is a directory
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$
    What does this mean? Wasn't it supposed to show some codec?
    Yes , its supposed to return something like this..
    Code:
     cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
    Codec: Realtek ALC892
    Maybe you card's codec its in another card than card0. Try to use the command with Tab key ...
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/ # and here use Tab key to list your available card directories
    Try other card directories accordingly.

    OR

    try Tab key with current loacation ..
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/card0/ # Tab key here..
    Last edited by NikTh; July 8th, 2012 at 08:28 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No sound!

    Quote Originally Posted by NikTh View Post
    Yes , its supposed to return something like this..
    Code:
     cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
    Codec: Realtek ALC892
    Maybe you card's codec its in another card than card0. Try to use the command with Tab key ...
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/ # and here use Tab key to list your available card directories
    Try other card directories accordingly.

    OR

    try Tab key with current loacation ..
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/card0/ # Tab key here..
    Okay, here's what I got:
    Code:
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/
    Audigy/  card1/   cards    hwdep    modules  pcm      timers   version
    card0/   card2/   devices  ICH5/    oss/     seq/     UART/    
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/
    codec97#0/ intel8x0   pcm0p/     pcm2c/     pcm4p/     
    id         pcm0c/     pcm1c/     pcm3c/     
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/
    What's this all mean?
    Question Everything

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: No sound!

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadius View Post
    Okay, here's what I got:
    Code:
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/
    Audigy/  card1/   cards    hwdep    modules  pcm      timers   version
    card0/   card2/   devices  ICH5/    oss/     seq/     UART/    
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/
    codec97#0/ intel8x0   pcm0p/     pcm2c/     pcm4p/     
    id         pcm0c/     pcm1c/     pcm3c/     
    shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/
    What's this all mean?
    I am not sure but i think means that you can try to find you card's codec in another card directory , like card1/ or card/2
    e.g:
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/card1/codec*  | grep Codec

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No sound!

    Quote Originally Posted by NikTh View Post
    I am not sure but i think means that you can try to find you card's codec in another card directory , like card1/ or card/2
    e.g:
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/card1/codec*  | grep Codec
    Oh okay, well, thanks for helping me get my sound working!
    Question Everything

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •